Friday Apr 29, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Who is who within Jairo probe team

28th August 2011
  Why the saga is a potential replay of Richmond deal
Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral David Jairo

Speaker of the National Assembly Anne Makinda on Friday announced the names of Members of Parliament forming the Parliamentary select committee that will investigate the handling of the probe into allegations levelled against Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral David Jairo.

Surprisingly, committee members aren’t the highly visible, vocal type, prompting analysts to speculate that the composition was cautious, to avoid inclusion of legislators deemed to harbour grudges against Jairo, and who would thus be potentially biased against him.

The report of the committee would be tabled in the 5th Parliamentary meeting that starts on November 8, this year.

Select or Ad hoc committees as commonly referred to in Parliamentary practices are those which are constituted by the House or the Speaker to consider and report on specific matters and become functions officio as soon as they have completed their work.


Terms of Reference

According to Speaker Anne Makinda , the Select Committee would work on the following terms of reference.

i. Investigate an arrangement through which the money was contributed by departments and agencies under the ministry to facilitate the approval of the ministry’s budget by Parliament.

ii. Investigate the legitimacy of such an arrangement under the existing laws and regulations, including checking if the money contributed was included in the ministry’s vote. Also the Select Committee should find out the justification of the expenditures made by the money contributed.

iii. The Select Committee should scrutinize the report of the Controller and Auditor General (CAG) compiled after he investigated the accusations leveled against the permanent secretary.

iv. Investigate the government system of responding to matters raised in Parliament and the manner in which the government gives feedback to the House. Taking Chief Secretary Phillemon Lujanjo’s decision of speaking to press on the findings by CAG as the case study, the Select Committee would investigate such an act to establish if the decision did not affect and usurp powers and privileges of the Parliament.

v. Investigate the ability of the authority that appoints Permanent Secretaries in dealing with disciplinary matters of people appointed by such an appointing authority.

vi. The Select Committee will also investigate all other matters associated with this case.


Who is who in the Select Committee

1.Reverend Israel Natse

He is very humble but a man who always stands for what he believes to be true. He is not very talkative. He entered the Parliament on a Chadema ticket

during last year’s general election, representing the Karatu electorate. He succeeded Dr Willibroad Slaa, the Chadema Secretary-General.

He holds a Masters Degree in Theology conferred on him in 2002 from Helsinki University in Finland. He has held several posts in the Evengelical Lutheran Church of Tanzania ( ELC), including being a teacher and academic principal of Mwika Theological and Evangelical College; but until last year’s general election, he was ELCT Bishop in North Diocese.


2.Gosbert Begumisa Blandes

He is a lawyer by profession. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in law (LLB) from the University of Dar es Salaam in 1992. He is a CCM Member of Parliament representing Karagwe from 2000. He is also not a hardliner in the politics of Parliament. Until now Blandes is Executive Director of the United Law Chamber Advocate. His professional expertise will come in handy in the legal aspects of the investigation.

3. Engineer Ramo Matala Makani

He entered the Parliament during last year’s general election on a CCM ticket, representing Tunduru North constituency. He rarely speaks in the House. He holds a Master’s Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Dar es Salaam conferred on him in 2007. Before entering politics, Matala worked as Tanzania Telecommunications Company Limited (TTCL) Engineer/ Civil Manager, Environment and Safety Manager and later became Engineering

Registration Board of Tanzania Assistant Registrar, a post he held until last year’s general election.

4.Martha Jachi Umbulla

She is a Special Seats CCM legislator. She is talkative. She is often heard speaking during Parliamentary sessions in Dodoma. She always stands for the truth. She holds a Master’s Degree in Business Administration (MBA) conferred on her 2002 from Maastricht University in Holland. She involved herself in activities of the Non Governmental Organisation (NGO) called WEDAC where she worked as its General Manager until 2005 when she entered the House. She comes from Arusha Region.


5. Khalifa Suleiman Khalifa

He is an opposition Member of Parliament and the only committee member from Zanzibar representing Gando electorate on a Civic United Front ( CUF) ticket. He is the most senior committee member as he entered the House in 1995 during the

first multiparty general election. He is also talkative and speaks often during Parliamentary sessions in Dodoma. Khalifa holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Philosophy from the University of Exeter in the UK.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles