Tuesday May 3, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Simba beat Mtibwa to remain on top

19th March 2012
Simba team

Simba Sports Club solidified their status as the team to beat this season in Mainland Premier League when they beat Mtibwa Sugar

2-1 at the Jamhuri Stadium in Morogoro yesterday.

Simba now lead the league standings with 47 points in pockets after 21 matches followed by Azam who beat Ruvu Shooting 1-0 yesterday at Chamazi to have 44 points in the second place.

The sugar cutters from Morogoro started the game on a high note, attacking from the first whistle with Hussein Javu failing to connect home a cross from Issa Rashid in the first minute.

Three minutes later Simba goalkeeper Juma Kaseja saved another danger from Mtibwa following a header from Javu.

Javu missed another good chance in the sixth minute when he shot wide with goalkeeper Kaseja in his mercy.

In the 13th minute Shomari Kapombe made a first attack for Simba when he released a powerful shot from 30 metre that went over the bar.

Simba were the first to celebrate in the 18th minute when Rwandese import Patrick Mafisango finished superbly a short pass from Haroun Moshi ‘Boban’ to register their first goal.

The score sheet remained 1-0 for Simba until half time.

It took Mtibwa seven minutes in the second half to equalizer through Javu following school boy blunders made by Simba defenders Kevin Yondani, Derick Walulya and Jonas Mkude.

Mtibwa goalie Deo Munishi denied Mafisango another goal for Simba in the 60th minute when he saved a penalty kick awarded by referee Mathew Akram from Mwanza.

The penalty was awarded after Emmanuel Okwi was fouled by Salum Swedi inside the box.

However, Simba scored the second goal which turned out to be the winner in the 74th minute when their utility player Felix Sunzu headed home a free kick from Okwi.

At Chamazi stadium, the Azam’s only goal was scored by Mrisho Ngasa in the 51st minute.



Deo Munishi, Juma Abdul, Issa Rashid, Salvantory Ntebe, Salum Swei, Shaban Nditi, Ally Ally, Awadhi Issa, Said Bahanuzi, Hussein Javu, Vicent Salamba


Juma Kaseja, Derick Walulya, Shomari Kapombe, Kevin Yondani, Juma Nyosso, Jonas Mkude, Machaku Salum, Patrick Mafisango, Felix Sunzu, Haroun Moshi ‘Boban’, Emanuell Okwi

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles