Tuesday May 3, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Simba are champs

5th May 2012
Simba squad

Mtibwa Sugar’s 2-1 win over Azam FC in a replay game yesterday, earned Simba SC the 19th Mainland Premier League title  Simba were waiting for a 1-1 draw to be crowned champions. The Msimbazi Street side has won the title with a game in hand, against bitter archrivals Yanga who will now meet in a formality game at the National Stadium tomorrow.

The newly crowned champions are at 59 points that can not be reached by any of the remaining 13 teams; Azam FC being the only side which could accomplish that if they had won yesterday’s game and if they will win the remaining game against Kagera Sugar.

Apart from the representing the country in the next year’s Champions League, Simba will pocket cash prize of 40m/- donated by the league sponsors, Vodacom Tanzania. Second placed Azam FC who have 53 points will pocket around 16m/-. Yanga, who were defending their title, went out of the race earlier, leaving the race for the two.

Ten-man Mtibwa Sugar scored their first goal in the 25th minute through Awadh Issa who connected home a Juma Abdul corner kick.  Abdul added the second for the Turiani-based side in the 60th minute.

The lone goal for Azam FC was registered 10 minutes later.

Mtibwa Sugar goalie Deogratias Munisi was awarded the red card for second bookable offence by referee Oden Mbaga one minute before the end of the game.

Azam FC: Mwadin Hassan, Erasto Nyoni, Wazir Omary, Ibrahim Mwaipopo, Luckson Kakolaki, Agrey Moris, Mrisho Ngassa, Bolow Kipre, John Bocco, Salum Abubakar, Tchetche Kipre.

Mtibwa Sugar: Deogratias Munisi, Said Mkopi, Juma Abdy, Salvatory Ntebe, Salum Swedi, Shaban Nditi, Hussein Javu, Babu Seif, Thomas Maurice, Awadh Issa, Vicent Barnabas.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles