Tuesday May 3, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Which Tanzanian attraction has topped Seventh Natural Wonder of Africa list?

22nd January 2013
Dr Aloyce Nzuki

Tanzania is among the winner countries in the World Natural Wonders competition organised towards the end of last year and has at least one of its attractions listed among the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa after the voting was concluded on December 31, 2012.

A statement issued by Dr Aloyce Nzuki, the Managing Director of Tanzania Tourist Board (TTB) at the weekend said the Seven Natural Wonders Institute headquartered in the US, which organised the competition, confirmed to him that initial results show that Tanzania is one of the countries with at least one of its attractions listed in the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. 
It said the announcement of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa will be made in Arusha next month and prominent people from different countries in Africa and journalists will attend.
Tanzania placed three attractions for the competition, but it is not known which one of them clinched the win.
They are Africa’s highest mountain, The Kilimanjaro, the world’s second biggest crater, Ngorongoro Crater and the world’s spectacular animal migration at Serengeti National Park.
“The Tanzania Tourists Board takes this opportunity to express its gratitudes to all individuals, within the country and abroad who voted the country’s attractions that included Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti National Park and Mt Kilimanjaro to be among the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa,” he said.
According to the report, Tanzania will host the declaration announcement and celebrate the Wonders of Nature of Tanzania and Africa at large and it will provide opportunity for the countrymen and Africa in general on what has been achieved.
Seven Natural Wonders Institute has been conducting a campaign since 2008 to determine the Seventh Natural Wonders of Africa including the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IIUCN) and experts from around the world cast their votes based on statistical and traditional significances with uniqueness and splendor.
The final votes had been cast by the close of 2012.


No articles