Saturday Oct 10, 2015
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia

Mtibwa Sugar reduce Yanga speed

3rd February 2013
Mtibwa Sugar defender Issa Rashid (right) and Simon Msuve of Yanga vie for the ball when the teams met in Dar es Salaam yesterday. Photo: Omar Fungo

Young Africans of Dar es Salaam failed to extract revenge in a return match as they were held to a 1-1 draw by the visiting Mtibwa Sugar in a Mainland Premier League match at the National Stadium yesterday.

Veteran striker Shaaban Kisiga headed home for Mtibwa Sugar a minute to halftime before Ugandan striker Hamisi Kiiza used a Simon Msuva cross to level for the league leaders.

Yanga now lead the 14-team league with 33 points. Mtibwa Sugar defeated Yanga 3-1 in the first round.


Yanga: Ally Mustapha, Mbuyu Twite, Oscar Joshua, Nadir Haroub, Kelvin Yondani, Athumani Iddi (Nurdin Bakari), Frank Damayo (Said Bahanuzi, Haruna Niyonzima, Jerson Tegete, Didier Kavumbagu (Hamisi Kiiza), Simon Msuva.

Mtibwa Sugar: Hussein Sharif, Said Mkopi, Issa Issa, Rajab Mohammed, Salum Swedi, Shaaban Nditi, Vicent Barnabas, Rashid Gumbo, Hussein Javu, Shaaban Kisiga, Ally MOhammed.