Friday May 6, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

New Mbeya DCs take oath of office, urged to honour it

17th May 2012
Mbeya regional commissioner Abbas Kandoro

Mbeya regional commissioner Abbas Kandoro yesterday swore in eight new district commissioners for Rungwe, Mbarali, Ileje, Mbozi, Momba, Kyela, Mbeya and Chunya at the state lodge in Mbeya.

The DCs who took the oath of office are Chrispin Meela for Rungwe, Gulamhussein Kifu (Mbarali), Rosemary Senyamule (Ileje), Dr Michael Yunia Kadeghe (Mbozi), Abihud Saideya (Momba), Margareth Malenga (Kyela), Dr Norman Sigalla (Mbeya) and Deodatus Kinawilo (Chunya).

The swearing-in of DCs follows their recent appointment or transfer President Jakaya Kikwete, as announced by Prime Minister Mizengo Pinda.

Kandoro praised urged the DC to fulfil their obligations by working diligently and efficiently for the benefit of the country and the nation.

He stressed the need for them to observe and safeguard national interests and work and social ethics while feeling honoured and privileged to serve their country as the president’s representatives at district level. The RC said the qualities of a good leader include the ability to unite and reconcile people, with a view to promoting peace and stability among them and enhance nation-building.

He said schools in Mbeya Region have a shortage of 44,504 desks, adding that 1,114 classrooms must be built as a matter of urgency partly on a self-help basis to meet existing demand.

Other dignitaries who graced the ceremony included Mbeya Regional Administrative Secretary Mariam Tunguja, Mbeya City Mayor Athanas Kapunga, district executive directors, members of the regional defence and security committee, religious leaders and representatives of political parties.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles