Wednesday May 4, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Super Kings cruise into cricket victory

13th March 2012

BMTL Superkings defeated Uhuruone Rangers by four wickets to win the fourth edition of the Advanced Players’ Twenty20 League in the final match played at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club venue last Sunday.

The losers won the toss and opted to bat first as they set up a target of 117 runs for a loss of nine wickets in the allotted twenty overs.

Jimmy Kamande was the team’s highest scorer when he notched 48 runs that included five fours and two sixes before he was caught by Doraiswamy Subramaniam off Yash Desai’s bowling.

The Superkings’ Subramaniam took three wickets for a loss of 12 runs in two overs of his bowling spell. Other wickets takers for the team were Shriniwas 2/14, Pravin 2/24 and Yash Desai 1/22.

The fall of wickets were in the pattern of 1-18, 2-62, 3-77, 4-102, 5-103, 6-106, 7-107, 8-109 and9-111.

The Superkings responded by exceeding the target by scoring 119 runs losing six wickets to win the title.

The winners’ highest scorer was Subramaniam who batted 46 runs that included five fours and two sixes. Pravin Tambe was the team’s second highest scorer with unbeaten 25 runs composed of two boundaries and a sixer.

Uhuruone bowler who made some ripples in the match was Steve Tikolo who took five wickets for a loss of 13 runs in four overs of bowling spell.

The fall of wickets were in the pattern of 1-65, 2-65, 3-72, 4-80, 5-86 and 6-108.

The tournament’s best allrounder was Kenyan Steve Tikolo as Doraiswamy became the best batsman of the series.

Kamande was voted as the best bowler.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles