Thursday May 5, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

JK nominates three to parliament

18th November 2010
  They are Zakhia Meghji, Vuai Nahodha and Prof Mbarawa
The former Zanzibar Chief Minister, Shamsi Vuai Nahodha

President Jakaya Kikwete yesterday nominated three members of Parliament as Tanzanians anxiously await the announcement of the cabinet line-up.

An official statement issued by the State House in Dar es Salaam, said the president made the nominations under Article 66 (1) (e) of the country’s Constitution of 1977 as amended which empowers him to nominate ten members of Parliament.

Those nominated included former Finance and Economic Affairs Minister, Zakia Hamdani Meghji, the former Zanzibar Chief Minister, Shamsi Vuai Nahodha and Prof Makame Mnyaa Mbarawa.

“The President will announce other Members of Parliament in days to come,” according to the State House statement.

Names of the nominated MPs, according to the statement, have been submitted to Speaker of the National Assembly Anne Makinda, for other necessary procedures.

Zakia Hamdani Meghji has been in politics since 1985, and served in many posts, including district and regional commissioner, head of Economic and Social Affairs Department at the Secretariat of CCM.

Born in Zanzibar, Meghji who is a teacher by profession served as minister of Natural Resources and Tourism and Finance and Economic Affairs between 2000 and 2008.

She once served as the President of the Africa Travel Association, where she introduced several highly important and timely initiatives in terms of developing the tourism sector, sponsored promotional tours of the USA, and introduced a Tourism Awards programme.

The former Zanzibar Chief Minister, Shamsi Vuai Nahodha was born on November 20, 1962. He holds a diploma in languages from the Institute of Kiswahili and Foreign Languages in Zanzibar.

He speaks fluent French, a language he studied at Bujumbura University after graduating with a bachelor’s degree from the University of Dar es Salaam in 1987. He received his master’s degree from the Open University of Tanzania in 2008.

In 2000 he was elected Mwera Representative before being appointed Chief Minister in the same year. In 2005, he was elected the Representative for Mwanakwerekwe constituency and President Karume retained him as the Chief Minister. This year, he contested for the Isles presidency and was one of the three finalists for the post.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles