Monday May 2, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Arusha driver wins Nanak motor rally

17th October 2011

Arusha driver Marc Cormac cruised into his maiden Automobile Association of Tanzania’s sanctioned Guru Nanak motor rally victory clocking two hours, two minutes and 24 seconds in Arusha yesterday.

Cormac was navigated by Pedro Pereira in their Mitsubishi Evolution four car to wind up the season in style. The duo started the rally as number eight but made superb finish to stun most of the rally fans.

The winner edged Dutch Robert Sander who finished runners-up of the event in his Mitsubishi Evolution Seven at the navigation services of Sauli Makundi. Sander clocked 2:06:32.

This was Sander’s best finish for the season, same as the winner Cormac.

Third placed finisher was Marco Cirera who was navigated by Nazim Suleiman using Subaru Legacy with a timing of 2:11:13.

The best placed driver from Dar es Salaam was Dharam Pandya who used Subaru Legacy car with Sanjeev Pandya as his navigator throughout the season for the fourth place. The Pandya duo clocked 2:12:05 to push South African Lola Verlaque and her daddy into the fifth place.

The rest of the finishers were Zambian Jasi Singh, Larry Horn, Said Baghoza and one Nishit.

The rally confirmed Kirit Pandya who started the event as number one on the ramp as the new champion of the AAT series for the season.

Pandya claimed unassailable points in excess of 180 to seal off his best driving season of his career. Armajeetsingh Dhillon who was holder of the rally title during the previous season would not compete in the event.

However, Dhillon excelled in the organizing committee for the rally and said it has been a successful one. Dhillon said the rally almost exceeded expectation in terms of organising level.

AAT staged six events for the 2011 season including the Kobil Rally of Tanzania that also counted as African leg for the year.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles