Saturday Apr 30, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

CCM`s new line-up in place

14th November 2012
  JK gets 99.92 pct of vote to retain chair
  Shein, Mangula elected vice-chairmen
CCM National Chairman, President Jakaya Kikwete in a jovial mood alongside Zanzibar’s Vice Chairman, Dr Ali Mohammed Shein and mainland party Vice Chairman, Philip Mangula, during the party’s top leadership election held in Dodoma yesterday. (Photo; Tryphone Mweji)

The CCM national conference has a new line-up at the top, led by National Chairman Jakaya Kikwete, with Dr Ali Mohamed Shein and Philip Mangula as vice-chairmen for Zanzibar and Tanzania Mainland respectively.

CCM Electoral Committee leader Speaker Anne Makinda said Kikwete was re-elected after getting 2,395 votes (approximately to 99.92 percent) out of 2397 votes cast.

She said Dr Ali Mohamed Shein and Phillip Mangula secured all the 2397 votes cast in the election.

Those who won the 20 NEC national seats (10 for Zanzibar and 10 for Mainland) were also officially announced yesterday with those from the Zanzibar being led by Prof Makame Mbarawa who scored 1850 votes, followed by Dr Mohamedi Seif Khatibu (1668), Khadija Aboodi (1625), Shamsi Vua Nahodha (1603), Dr Ali Husein Mwinyi (1576), Samia Hassan (1520), Omary Yusuph Mzee (1415), Bagwachi Mesulia (1406), Abduhakim Chasama (1248), and Khamis Mambo (1248).

Those who won the ten Tanzania Mainland seats were led by Stephen Wasira who scored 2135 votes, followed by January Makamba (2093), Mwigulu Nchemba (2012), Martin Shigella (1824), William Lukuvi (1805), Bernard Membe (1455), Dr Mathayo David Mathayo (1414), Wilson Mukama (1374), Jackson Msome (1207) and Dr Ferella Makangara (1132).

Earlier the Electoral Committee of CCM yesterday introduced new system requiring every region to cast their votes independently supervised by regional party secretaries.

The new procedure was announced by Makinda who is a CCM Central Committee member and Speaker of the National Assembly.

“We have changed the way in which we are going to vote…the usual method will not be used anymore…each region will cast its votes separately… and a secretary of each region will oversee his /her respective region’s votes,” she said.

She added: “If you have accidentally destroyed your vote…come here with the spoilt ballot paper and we will issue you another one to help you choose your leader.”

Before resigning from his post as to pave the way for the election, Kikwete thanked CCM members for entrusting him to lead the party for the past five years.

“When you gave us the task in 2007, we promised to work hard…for sure we have done so; however, we encountered many challenges…this is why, when my name was nominated as a sole candidate for this post, I humbly accepted it,” Kikwete said.

He said: “There are still some challenges ahead of us…but I hope that working together, we can accomplish the task easily.”

Kikwete’s name and of the two vice-chairmen, Philip Mangula-Tanzania mainland and Dr Mohamed Shein Tanzania-Zanzibar) were nominated by the Central Committee (CC) thereafter approved by the National Executive Committee (NEC) last Sunday.

0 Comments | Be the first to comment


No articles