Friday Apr 29, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Hayatou to preside over Challenge Cup

19th November 2012
Issa Hayatou

For the first time in the history of the Senior Cecafa Challenge Cup the President of the Confederation of African Football, Issa Hayatou, will preside over the opening ceremony as the tournament kicks off in Kampala on November 24.

The availability of the continent’s supreme football body has been confirmed by both CECAFA and FUFA, according to yesterday’s press release.

The two football bodies wish to inform the press and the entire public that Hayatou has accepted to visit Uganda and preside over the official opening of this year’s Challenge Cup in Kampala next weekend.

CECAFA is already in receipt of the confirmation details of Hayatou’s visit from CAF headquarters in Cairo.

The continental football leader is expected in Kampala on November 22, two days ahead of the kick off.

His visit is partly in recognition of CECAFA’s continued stable development of the football game in the region.

Hayatou’s visit follows an invitation extended to him by the CECAFA President Leodegar Tenga.

FUFA President Lawrence Mulindwa said Uganda was honoured to host the football’s continental high ranking leader.

Hayatou will be in company of several CAF officials who will include the general secretary Hicham El Amrani.

 Other confirmed members of the delegation include Mohamed Raouraoua, Constant Omari and Ngangue Appolinaire. He will meet the FUFA executive shortly after his arrival in Kampala.

During his stay in Uganda, the CAF President will attend the CECAFA Congress at Serena Hotel on Friday, before presiding over the official opening of the Cecafa-Tusker Cup at Namboole stadium the following evening.

He will also attend a special gala night organised in recognition of his visit to Cecafa region and Uganda in particular.

Uganda hosts neighbours Kenya in the opening match of the Cecafa-Tusker Cup at 6pm on Sunday.

The tournament, dubbed to be the oldest at regional level, has attracted a total of 12 teams including hosts and 12 times record winners, yet holders Uganda.

Other teams besides hosts lined up for the tourney are Mainland Tanzania, Zanzibar, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and invitees Malawi.

The teams have been divided into three groups of four and the two top placed ones would advance into the quarterfinals including two others to be selected on the basis of their group stage performance, finishing third at the end of the preliminaries.



No articles