Friday May 6, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

House to reconstitute standing committees

10th February 2013
Speaker Anne Makinda

Parliamentary Speaker Anne Makinda has announced a decision to dissolve all 18 current Parliamentary Standing Committees.

The decision was announced to the legislature at the end of the 10th meeting of the 10th Parliament of the United Republic, where the Speaker also announced a reconstituted format for parliamentary committees.

She called on MPs to collect application forms for membership and vie for chairman and vice chairman positions in the new committees.

The decision also involved establishing a new Budget Tracking Committee and scrapping the Public Organisations Accounts Committee, erstwhile chaired by Zitto Kabwe (Kigoma North-CHADEMA)

Also axed is the Standing Committee on Parliamentary By-Laws formerly headed by Sylvester Maselle Mabumba (Dole-CCM).

Explaining the changes, the Speaker said that accounts of public organizations are traditionally audited and monitored as part of government audits and that is what is now being observed.



No articles