Wednesday May 4, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

CAF releases seeds for 2015 AFCON qualifiers

22nd February 2013
Confederation of African Football (CAF)

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released seeding teams for the draw of the 2015 African nations Cup championship to be hosted by Morocco.

The full draw will be released on March 10 in Rabat during a CAF’s general assembly and the qualification procedures.
 The qualification will return to its ordinary trend as contrasted to the ad hoc one that was used during the just ended tournament in South Africa won by Nigeria.
Forty-four teams are on the starting line up and seeded in four pots of eleven teams each according to current ranking.
Pot one has  Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Togo, Mali, South Africa , Cape Verde, DR Congo, Zambia, Tunisia and Ghana.
Pot two has Egypt, Libya, Algeria, Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Gabon, Uganda, Congo and Central African Republic.
Pot three has Ethiopia, Benin, Angola, Niger, Zimbabwe, Equatorial, Mozambique, Malawi, Burundi, Liberia and Sudan.
According to CAF pot four where Tanzania national soccer team is supposed to be will be determined after the preliminary rounds matches.
Tanzania has only appeared in the 1980 championship hosted by Nigeria when only eight teams were competing.
Since then the voodoo has been haunting the team as frequent failures has been an ordinary tradition.


No articles