Monday May 2, 2016
| Text Size
Search IPPmedia
Badilisha Lugha KISWAHILI

Mozambique hold Stars

21st July 2014
Action during African Nations Cup playoff qualifier first leg game between Tanzania and visiting Mozambique played at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam yesterday. Match ended in 2-2 draw.

Substitute Isaac de Cavalho’s goal three minutes to time completely spoiled Taifa Stars party as the African Nations Cup playoff qualifier first leg ended in 2-2 draw at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam yesterday.

All for goals of the match were scored during the second half as the visitors were the first to draw first blood two minutes after resumption through one Domingues.
Taifa Stars  d embarked on determined fight back that eventually paid off with striker Mcha Khamis at his best.
Khamis’ second half brace worked right in favour of the home side as Tanzania managed to keep alive hopes of winning a group stage qualifier berth for the next year’s African Nations Cup championship in Morocco at least up to the 87th minute.
The draw has not underlined Taifa Stars’ coach Mart Noij’s credentials in terms of competence so far despite having edged Zimbabwe in the opening playoff matches played last month.
Nooij used to coach the Mozambican side before joining Taifa Stars at the beginning May.
 The return leg match will be played in Maputo on the early dates of next month as Taifa Stars need an outright victory to find a breakthrough.
Should Stars win by aggregate of the two match results, then they will join the likes of Zambia, Cape Verde and Niger in the proper qualifier series involving six matches, three of them at home and the balance on away soil.
 Victory must be sought after as Mozambique hold the fort with two bonus away goals that would work right in their favour to decide which team should advance in case of a barren draw in Maputo.
Taifa Stars: Deogratius Munishi, Shomari Kapombe, Oscar Joshua, Nadir Haroub, Kelvin Yondani, Mwinyi Kazimoto, Thomas Ulimwengu, Erasto Nyoni, Jonh Bocco, Mbwana Samata and Mrisho Ngasa.
Mozambique: Dario Khan,  Mohamed Hagi, Zainadine Junior, Saddan Guambe, Francisco Mioche, Eduardo Jumisse, Elias Pelembe, Josemar  Machaisse, Helder Pelembe, Almoro Lobo and Ricardo Campos.


No articles