The Central Corridor Transit Transport in a nut shell

22Jul 2016
The Guardian Reporter
The Guardian
The Central Corridor Transit Transport in a nut shell

The Central Corridor Transit Transport Facilitation Agency (TTFA) is a multilateral Agency established on 2nd September, 2006,

formed by an Agreement by the five governments of the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), The Republic of Rwanda, The United Republic of Tanzania and The Republic of Uganda.

The TTFA was formed in recognition of the right of landlocked countries (LLC) to transit trade as declared under specific United Nations General Assembly Resolution 56/180 on particular needs of Landlocked Developing Countries from which other declarations and action programmes evolved.

Through co-operation amongst private and public sector stakeholders the TTFA is charged with the promotion of transport utilization of the Central Corridor, encouraging the maintenance, upgrading, improvement and development of infrastructure and supporting service facilities at port, rail, lake, road border posts and along the route to meet user requirements, ensure open competition and reduce the costs of transit transport for land-locked member states.
Achievements on the Central Corridor in the past three years:

The main road networks of the Central Corridor are in perfect condition with an exception of a few road sections which are under construction as well.

Police road blocks have been reduced to roughly nine from 53 roadblocks in 2010. Business cards with police contacts in all regions are being distributed to all truck drivers for them to report incidences of violations.

Introduction of Electronic Cargo tracking system for all types of cargo – as a result trucks no longer stop at all four revenue check point along the corridor.

One Stop Border Posts (OSBPs) on all major borders being constructed – Rusumo, Mutukula, Kabanga/Kobero. All OSBPs will be operational early 2015.

Rwanda and Tanzania launched a new modern Rusumo International bridge with the capacity of 400 tonnes in August 2014 replacing the old bridge that could only support 56 tonnes.

The international bridge stretching 82 metres is meant to reduce traffic on the old bridge which has been there for 40 years. The project was funded by Japanese International Cooperation Agency (JICA) at a cost of $8.6m.

Through an initiate of the Central Corridor Transit Transport Facilitation Agency, three One Stop Inspection Stations (OSIS) will be constructed between Dar es Salaam port and Rusumo border post beginning 2015 at Vigwaza, Manyoni and Nyakanazi.

The project supported by Trade Mark East Africa, European Union and World Bank, if completed will allow transit trucks to stop at only three stops (where all cargo/truck inspections by Revenue Authorities, Weigh bridges and Police will be done simultaneously) instead of stopping at all 8 weigh bridges, 3 Tanzania Revenue Authority check points and police check points.