Govt signs bilateral air agreements with eight countries

16Sep 2016
Prosper Makene
The Guardian
Govt signs bilateral air agreements with eight countries

TO stimulate development of the aviation industry, the government has signed bilateral air services agreements (BASA) with eight countries.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Works, Communications and Transport, Eng. Leonard Chamuriho, told Parliamentary committee for Infrastructure Development recently in Dodoma that the countries include Sri Lanka, Serbia, Ghana, Morocco, Curacao, Malta, Qatar and Kuwait.

“Currently Tanzania has BASA agreements with 61 countries compared to 53 countries in 2014/15,” he said.
He also said that the government through Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority (TCAA) will procure four civilian navigation radars to be installed at Julius Nyerere International Airport, Kilimanjaro International Airport, Mwanza Airport and Songwe International Airport.

TCAA director-general, Hamza Johari, told the parliamentary committee that they have formed a special committee which has already started preparing technical specifications of the needed radars.

“We will shortly announce a tender for the civilian radars this month. This project will cost about 61.3bn/-,” he said.
“Apart from procuring four radars, TCAA is also renovating the control tower at Pemba Airport at the cost of 500m/-,” he said.
Johari also said that they have already started installing an automatic dependent surveillance broadcast (ADS-B), a technology to control and navigate aircrafts.

He said that the first phase of the ADS-B project located in the eastern part of the country will be completed in the 2016/17 financial year after the second phase will be installed in the western part of the country.

Top Stories