18 Coke studio stars win nomination for 2017 AFRIMA awards

28Aug 2017
Joseph Mchekadona
The Guardian
18 Coke studio stars win nomination for 2017 AFRIMA awards

IN yet another major milestone, 18 Coke Studio Africa artistes are among Africa’s top celebrated stars nominated for the 2017 edition of the annual All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA), set to take place in November. 



The nominees were unveiled in Lagos, Nigeria last month. They include Yemi Alade, Ali Kiba, AKA, Runtown, Nasty C, Eddy Kenzo, Locko, Anselmo Ralph and Jah Prayzah.

Busiswa, Amanda Black, Kiff No Beat, Mafikizolo, Micasa, Bebe Cool, Nyashinski, Olamide and Nandi are, as well, in the list.  This year’s nominee list includes 33 categories, 10 regional and 23 genre-based categories, with Coke Studio stars bagging 25 nomination slots.

Fresh off releasing her new EP: “Mama Afrique”, multi-award winning Nigerian artist, Yemi Alade, returns to the show for the fourth time this year, performing alongside French Congolese rapper, Youssoupha. 

She has been nominated in the Best Female Artiste in Western Africa category. Another Nigerian star, Runtown, of the “Mad Over You” hit has been nominated in the coveted category of Best Male Artiste in Western Africa up against Nigerian heavy weights Davido and Wizkid. Runtown makes his debut on Coke Studio Africa this year paired alongside Africa’s coolest kid, Nasty C.

This year has been great for Eddy Kenzo. He just released his new album “BIOLOGY” and returns to Coke Studio for a second time paired alongside Ghanaian artiste, Bisa Kdei. 

Kenzo is among the AFRIMA nominees in the category of Best Male Artiste in Eastern Africa together with Coke Studio king from Tanzania, Ali Kiba. 

AFRIMA category of Best Male Artiste in Central Africa includes Coke Studio stars, Anselmo Ralph (Angola) and Locko (Cameroon) both making their debut on the show this year. On the show Anselmo Ralph is paired with Mi Casa (South Africa) and Locko is paired with Tresor (South Africa/Congo). Kenzo has also been nominated for the Video of the Year category, Album of the Year in Africa, Artiste of the year in Africa and Song of the Year.

From South Africa, Coke Studio rappers, Nasty C and AKA, have been nominated for the Best Male Artiste in Southern Africa, alongside Zimbabwean music general, Jah Prayzah, who collaborates with Mozambique’s Mr. Bow and Ugandan artiste, Ykee Benda, on his Coke Studio debut this year. 

South African divas, Busiswa and Amanda Black, will battle it out in the category of Best Female Artiste in Southern Africa.While Busiswa has been paired with Zambian artiste Slap Dee on the show, Amanda Black collaborated with Ghanaian “Tonga” star, Joey B.

In subsequent AFRIMA nominations other Coke Studio stars have been nominated in the continental categories. 

They include Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast) Mafikizolo and Mi Casa (South Africa) in the Best African Group category. 

For the Best Artist or Group in African Contemporary category, the nominees include Anselmo Ralph (Angola) and Ali Kiba. 

Aje by Ali Kiba featuring MI, has also been nominated for the category of Best Collaboration alongside Jah Prayzah’s Watora Mari featuring Diamond and Supporter by Locko featuring Mr Leo.

Uganda’s King of dancehall, Bebe Cool, is among the nominees for Best Artist or Group in African Reggae, Ragga and Dancehall. The other categories in the continental awards that are aimed at shaping the narrative of African Music across the globe include Best Artist or Group in African Hip Hop AKA (South Africa), Nasty C (South Africa), Best Artist or Group in African R&B and Soul – Ali Kiba (Tanzania), Anselmo Ralph (Angola), Best Artist in African Pop - Locko (Cameroon) and Yemi Alade (Nigeria).

The African Fans Favourite category has also attracted 10 nominees, with two going to Coke Studio stars, Nyashinski (Kenya) and Olamide (Nigeria).

 Other categories with Coke Studio stars include Songwriter of the Year category – Anselmo Ralph, Revelation of The Year – Nasty C and Runtown, Producer of the Year and Song of the Year – Runtown.