Rwanda to host EAC army field exercise in 2024

18Jun 2022
The Guardian
Rwanda to host EAC army field exercise in 2024

​​​​​​​RWANDA will host the next cycle of the Ushirikiano Imara Command Post Exercise and the field training exercise of the East African Community (EAC) armies in 2023 and 2024, the defence spokesperson, Brig. Gen. Felix Kulayigye has said.

“The next cycle of the exercises; Ushirikiano Imara Command Post Exercise 2023 and Field Training Exercise 2024 will be hosted by the Republic of Rwanda,” he said.

The 12th EAC Armed Forces Field Training Exercise, which Uganda hosted, ended on Wednesday in Jinja, with an action review of the Uganda exercise and activities that EAC armies conducted during their stay in Uganda.

The action review of the activities lasted for three days.

“The planners of the recently concluded EAC Armed Forces Field Training Exercise Ushirikiano Imara 2022 are gathered at Civil Service College Uganda, in Jinja City for a three days' after-action review of the exercise. This marks the end of all the activities of the exercise,” Kulayigye said.

The 12th edition of the EAC armed forces field training exercise commenced on May 27 with a command post exercise, Kampala planning conferences and the construction of key infrastructure in Jinja.

Speaking about the training, President Yoweri Museveni said in a speech that was read on his behalf by the First Deputy Prime Minister, Rebecca Kadaga, that the joint EAC training is part of the needed promotion of the EAC integration, which is a great pillar for social-economic transformation.

“Integration will introduce a bigger market and resources in the region,” Museveni said, noting that EAC partner states must continue to work together for the prosperity and security of the people.

“Independently each can’t guarantee its survival, but together we can,” Museveni said, noting that the recent admission of the Democratic Republic of Congo into the EAC bloc will provide a new trade corridor for the region.

EAC is a regional bloc of seven countries—Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

Top Stories