EAC leaders up in arms on terror

05Mar 2016
The Guardian
EAC leaders up in arms on terror

THE East African Community’s (EAC) Heads of State Summit have expressed concerns on the recent terrorist attack in Kenya, describing it as a regional problem that calls for collective efforts to overcome.

Dr Richard Sezibera

“The summit expressed its solidarity with the people and the government of the Republic of Kenya following the attack by Al-Shabaab terrorists on the Amisom’s Kenya Defence Force (KDF) base at El Adde in Somalia which resulted in the death of KDF soldiers,” said Dr Richard Sezibera, EAC secretary general in the joint statement.

“The summit condemned the attack and reaffirmed the community’s resolve to counter terrorism and insecurity in the region,” he said.

During the meeting chaired by President John Magufuli, the EAC Heads of State also launched the code of conduct to fight corruption in the private sector.

“The summit commended the commitment and aspirations of the private sector to play a leading role in the integration process,” read the communiqué.

In another development, the Heads of State awarded certificates to the winners of the EAC secondary schools essay competition 2015, and also appointed Liberat Mfumukeko from Burundi to succeed Ambassador Dr Richard Sezibera as the new secretary general with due affect on April 26.

Charles Njoroge also had his contract for the post of deputy secretary general of the East African Community extended for three years with effect from June 29, 2016.

The summit also endorsed and launched the EAC Vision 2050 ensuring that the trading bloc will be transformed into an upper-middle income region within a secure and politically united East Africa based on the principles of inclusiveness and accountability by 2050.

They also launched the new international East African e-passport as of January 1, 2017, calling for partner states to carry out awareness campaign on the new programme.

They also witnessed the swearing in of Yufnalis Ndege Okubo from Kenya to the office of a new registrar of the East African Court of Justice.