Isles traders urged to use EAC market

21Jun 2016
David Kisanga
The Guardian
Isles traders urged to use EAC market

ZANZIBARIS have been urged to utilise market opportunities available in the East African Community (EAC) to sell their products.

Members of East African Legislative Assembly Abdallah Mwinyi (l) and Shy Rose Bhanji (r)

Speaking to reporters yesterday, delegate chairman who is also a member of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA), Abdallah Mwinyi said it is time for Zanzibaris to fully utilise market opportunities within the East African Community.

EALA members from Tanzania are on a three day sensitisation tour of Zanzibar to create awareness to Zanzibar citizens on the benefits of EAC.

He said there has been little awareness among Zanzibaris on the importance of EAC which have further denied them various opportunities such as trade.

He said there a room for Zanzibaris who would want to do business in the region noting that they have to utilize the available opportunities by selling their goods.

According to him, there has been an outcry from Zanzibaris of not having a chance to sell their goods to EAC countries but they have never tried to do so.

“It is time for Zanzibaris especially those wanting to do business between the member states that a single market has many benefits such as full freedom of movement for all the factors of production whereas factors of production become more efficiently allocated and further increase productivity,” he said.

Detailing more on the importance on EAC, Shy-Rose Bhanji asserted that Zanzibar has a number of opportunities to benefit in the EAC integration.

She said want they need is to go beyond what they think and start using the available business opportunities such as trade including selling of cloves and spices in the EAC member market.

Bhanji said Zanzibaris should know that EAC integration offers many benefits to member countries.

The protocol on the Establishment of the East African Community (EAC) Common Market entered into force on 1 July 2010, following ratification by all the five Partner States: Burundi, Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya and Rwanda.

Top Stories