SADC meets in Swaziland to discuss development strategies

19Mar 2017
The Guardian Reporter
Guardian On Sunday
SADC meets in Swaziland to discuss development strategies

Vice President Samia Suluhu Hassan represented President John Magufuli in an emergency meeting for the Southern African Development Community (SADC) that convened in Mbabane, Swaziland yesterday.

Samia Suluhu Hassan

The meeting that was chaired by King Mswati III of Swaziland was earmarked for discussion on various themes including SADC performance assessment especially on the member states’ industrialization drive.

Other topics earmarked for discussion include education, infrastructure, defence and security and a set up of a framework over private sector involvement in the community development agenda.

Opening the meeting, SADC’s chairman King Mswati III urged members to devote themselves to projects that would spearhead the spirit of co-operation among the member states.

He said close collaboration among SADC members on the implementation of various projects would greatly reduce unemployment and poverty challenges in the region.

“For SADC region to improve its economy, it is equally important that we have plan on how to develop and build industries,” he said.

According to him Africa was rich of resources enough to develop minerals, livestock and tourism industries.

Earlier, ministers, permanent secretaries and experts from the member states met to discuss miscellaneous issues related to the Community.

A delegation from Tanzania included Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Augustine Mahiga, the Minister for Industries, Trade and Investment, Charles Mwijage and his Zanzibar counterpart Ambassador Amina Salum Ali.

Meanwhile, the meeting for political organizations, defense and security known as Double Troika for the SADC member states which involved heads of states was opened yesterday at the Grand- Lozitha in Mbababe, Swaziland.

The meeting was set to discuss the ongoing security situations in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Lesotho.

SADC Double Troika meeting follows the recommendations by the ministerial subcommittee on politics and diplomacy which took place in Dar es Salaam last month.

The SADC Double Troika involves six countries namely Tanzania, Swaziland, South Africa, Angola, Botswana and Mozambique.

Top Stories