TCU deregisters six varsities, three campuses citing quality

22Jan 2020
Felister Peter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
TCU deregisters six varsities, three campuses citing quality

INVESTORS who pumped capital into the establishment of several private universities are now counting losses after the sector regulator yesterday deregistered six universities and three campuses citing quality issues.

TCU Executive Secretary Prof Charles Kihampa

THE Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) attributed the deregistration of the institutions of higher learning—some of which are operated by major faith denominations— to failure to abide by stipulated guidelines to ensure the quality of education provided.

Addressing a press conference in Dar es Salaam, TCU Executive Secretary Prof Charles Kihampa said the commission arrived at the decision f0llowing intense consultations since last August.

"We gave the universities almost four years to work on the identified academic shortcomings, but very few improved. The de-registered universities had a number of academic problems including limited human resources, funds and poor infrastructures," he said.

He however noted that two out the six universities had voluntarily requested the commission to de-register them from the list of higher learning institutions.

They are The Archbishop James University College (AJUCO) in Songea and Cardinal Rugambwa Memorial University College (CARUMCO) in Bukoba.

Universities barred by TCU are Josiah Kibira University College (JoKUCo) in Bukoba Rural district, University of Bagamoyo (UoB), Mount Meru University (MMU) in Arusha and the International Medical and Technological University (IMTU) in Dar es Salaam.

De-registrered university centres include the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKIAT) Arusha center, St John's University (SJUT) St Mark's campus in Dar es Salaam and Teofilo Kisanji University (TEKU) Dar es Salaam center.

Prof Kihampa said the commission has permitted one university, St Francis University of Health and Allied Sciences (SFUHAS) to start admitting students for the 2020/2021 academic year after meeting required academic standards.

"TCU will continue barring Sebastian Kolowa University from admitting new students over failure to meet required academic standards within the given time frame," he said, noting that TCU had given the university a six months grace period to make improvements.

The decisions will not affect students since measures were taken earlier to relocate them to other universities, he stated.

TCU shifted 2,607 students from the barred universities to other colleges countrywide, and some have already graduated, he pointed out.

The commission had started to shift students earlier last year when it noticed irregularities in some higher learning institutions.

When they were being established, the universities met all the required academic standards including human resources but TCU discovered the shortcomings as it continues inspecting them regularly, he added.