Winners and losers in JPM’s latest shake-up

21Sep 2019
Henry Mwangonde
The Guardian
Winners and losers in JPM’s latest shake-up

PRESIDENT John Magufuli yesterday made sweeping changes to his administration in a shake-up which saw immediate former director general of the Tanzania Intelligence and Security Service (TISS) Dr Modestus Kipilimba and UDSM senior lecturer Dr Benson Bana named ambassadors.

In the shake-up list which was aired on public television, Chief Secretary Dr John Kijazi said President Magufuli appointed several top level officials including one Regional Commissioner, District Commissioners and new ambassadors, removing embattled Morogoro RC, Dr Stephen Kebwe.

The Head of State appointed 12 new ambassadors, including Dr Kipilimba who was relieved of his duties last week.

Dr Kebwe, who has been under pressure since the Morogoro fuel tanker disaster and reports of gross loosing in some districts, is replaced by Lootha Sanare who is also the CCM regional chairman for Arusha.

Other envoys apart from Dr Kipilimba include Mohamed Mtonga, Dr Benson Bana, Dr Jilly Maleko, Maj Gen (rtd) Anselim Bahati, Prof Emanuel Mbena, Maimuna Tarishi, Maj Gen (rtd) Gaudence Milanzi, Ally Jabir Mwadini, Justus Advock Nyamanga, Prof Kennedy Gaston and Aisha Amour.

 Dr Kijazi said the new envoys’ working station and the date when they will be sworn-in will be announced later.

The Chief Secretary also revealed that the president has appointed Alfayo Kidata, former Tanzania Revenues Authority Commissioner General, who also served as Tanzania’s ambassador to Canada, as the new Mtwara Regional Administrative Secretary (RAS).

The newly appointed envoys are expected to fill in vacancies in Abu Dhabi, Bujumbura, Cairo, Harare, Kuwait City, Pretoria, United Nations (Geneva), United Nations (New York), Tokyo and Abuja.

The president has also shifted two district commissioners, Mtemi Msafiri (Chato) who has swapped working station with his Tarime counterpart Charles Kabeho.  Dr Magufuli also appointed Mussa Masele as the new Malinyi District Commissioner.

Also appointed is one new permanent secretary and three deputy permanent secretaries.

Dickson Tuyangine Mzunda, who was deputy permanent secretary at the President’s Office (Regional Administration and Local Governments), becomes Permanent Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office (Parliamentary Affairs).

Mary Maganga, the Budget Commissioner at the Ministry of Finance and Planning has been elevated to Treasury Deputy Permanent Secretary (Administration), the Chief Secretary noted.

Anthony Damian Sanga, who is currently Mwanza Urban Water and Sanitation Authority (MWAUWASA) becomes Water Ministry Deputy Permanent Secretary.

Dr Ally Possi, the Deputy Solicitor General has been appointed Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Information, Culture and Sports.

The president also elevated Ally Sakira and Mussa Rulandara, both aides to the president, to ambassadors whose duty stations will be within the country.

Top Stories