Chaneta in need of support for team participation in Africa tourney

17Oct 2019
Joseph Mchekadona
The Guardian
Chaneta in need of support for team participation in Africa tourney

TANZANIA netball association (Chaneta) officials have said they are optimistic Taifa Queens will travel to South Africa for the African Netball Championship (ANC) which is slated to tip off tomorrow and end on Tuesday next week in Bellville, Velodrome, Cape Town.

Chaneta secretary general Judith Ilunda said they are working hard with a view to seeing to it the national team travel to South Africa for the championship, which has attracted eight nations.

She said it has been a struggle to secure funds for the team, but they have not lost hope of securing funds.

Ilunda said their initial budget for the team’s trip for the championship was 104m/- but it has been reduced.

"The initial budget was 104m/- this included camping, but now it has been reduced, what we are looking for now is cash for air tickets, accommodation and allowances for the team," she said.

She said the association’s only remaining hope for funds rests on the government.

She asked companies, organizations and individuals to help them with finances and materials so that the national team can travel to the event.

Ilunda said the championship is important to the sport’s development in the country.

The tournament, she pointed out, will be a stepping stone for the country to regain its ranking in International Netball Federation (INF).

The competition, according to her, will as well be used as qualifiers for the Netball World Cup.

"As you know the country has not played in any of the INF sanctioned tournaments for more than six years now and we were also removed from the INF rankings, so, this is an opportunity for us to regain our ranking and also play international events," she said.

Taifa Queens are in pool B of the continental event alongside Zimbabwe, Uganda and Kenya.

The national side will start the championship with a game against Uganda on Saturday.

Pool A is made up of South Africa, Malawi, Zambia and Lesotho.