Caravans wallop Union SC in DRCC Caravans T20 Cup

06Nov 2019
By Guardian Reporter
The Guardian
Caravans wallop Union SC in DRCC Caravans T20 Cup

CARAVANS Club’s cricketers have started their title defense campaign in this year’s DRCC Caravans T20 competition impressively, walloping Union Sports Club by 123 runs in Dar es Salaam on Sunday.

Caravans Cricket Club’s players pictured before the outfit had taken on Union SC in this year’s DRCC Caravans Cup’s game, which took place in Dar es Salaam last weekend. PHOTO; COURTESY OF NIKHIL PUJARA.

After having won the toss, Caravans chose to bat in the Group A’s clash, which was held at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club (DGC) venue, notching 192 runs for the loss of four wickets in 20 overs.

Caravans put strong showing in the innings, with opener Mohamed Omary particularly in scintillating form. He blasted 70 runs, which consisted of two fours and two sixes.

The other opener, Ivan Ismail, chipped in with 12 runs in his brief stay at the crease, with his score consisting of a boundary and a six.

The squad’s experienced all-rounders, Kassim Nassor and Jitin Singh, were equally in impressive form, given they notched 55 runs and 30 runs respectively, seeing to it their squad post a challenging target for Union SC.

Skipper Sreejith Kumar closed the side’s innings, posting eight runs not out which included a boundary.

Union SC bowlers Athuman Kakonzi, Ali Sumar, Shamir Khan and Shabbar Ratansi ended with one wicket each.

Union SC, in response, were unable to forge strong partnership and they, in the end, scored 69 runs for the loss of five wickets in 20 overs to concede defeat.

The squad’s chase was dealt an early blow, given opening batsman Danish Unia was sent back to the pavilion by Caravans’ Jitin Singh after a brief spell, posting four runs.

Meaningful contribution with the bat came from Unia’s fellow opener, Kakonzi, who posted 15 runs, Hasnain Moti, who scored 15 runs not out, and Hasnain Damji, who batted at number three, and recorded 11 runs.

Caravans’ Jayaraj Malayil and Gokul Das’ stellar bowling displays were instrumental in their squad’s successful attempt to thwart Union SC chase.

The two ended their spells with two wickets apiece, Singh took one wicket.

Omary was adjudged to be the man of the match for his 70 runs and his direct involvement in three wickets his team took during their turn with the ball.

Caravans Club has organized the competition under the supervision of Dar es Salaam Regional Cricket Committee (DRCC), aiming at developing the sport at the domestic level.

The competition’s sponsors include Petrofuel, Alliance Insurance, Grand Restaurant, Colourflex, RAS Logistics and SBC through Pepsi brand.

This year’s tournament has brought together 10 teams that have been placed in two groups.

Group A has been made up of Union, Caravans, Gymkhana, Aga Khan SC and Team 10. Group B outfits include Aces, Shree Kutchi Leva, GP, Estim and Saint Gobain.

Top Stories