Aces cricketers cruise to DRCC Caravans T20 tourney final

10Dec 2019
By Guardian Reporter
The Guardian
Aces cricketers cruise to DRCC Caravans T20 tourney final

ACES cricketers have booked a place in the final of this year’s DRCC Caravans T20 competition, trouncing Aga Khan SC by 16 runs in the semi-final, which took place in Dar es Salaam on Sunday.

Aces’ medium pacer Salum Jumbe (C) celebrates with teammates Mohamed Ali (R) and Nassor Zahor after Jumbe had dismissed one of Shree Kutchi Leva SC batsmen in this year’s DRCC Caravans T20 competition’s clash between the two clubs, which took place at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club (DGC) oval recently. PHOTO: COURTESYOF NIKHIL PUJARA

Aces were therefore set to lock horns with Saint Gobain Strikers in the final the same weekend, given the latter had bundled defending champions, Caravans Club, out of the last four stage.

A spirited bowling showing by Aces was instrumental in the outfit’s victory over Aga Khan SC in the last four clash, given Aces bowlers put their skills to show and easily tamed the opponents’ batsmen.

Aces chose to start batting once they won the toss, notching 108 runs all out in 20 overs.

They experienced a slight wobble during the early stages of the innings, in which opening batsman, Ankit Baghel, was dismissed by Aga Khan SC’s Riziki Kiseto with only one run to his name.

Jumanne Mohamed, who opened the innings with Baghel, made up for his fellow opener’s flaws, notching 22 runs, which consisted of two fours.

Raza Baloch, Ali Mpeka and Salum Jumbe boosted Aces’ quest for a convincing score, nailing 21 runs, 20 runs and 17 runs respectively.

Batting collapse during the latter stages of the innings, however, frustrated an attempt by Aces to post a challenging target for the opponents.

Khalil Rehemtulla led Aga Khan SC’s bowling onslaught, finishing his spell with three wickets and leaking three runs in two overs.

He was ably assisted by Vipin Abraham and Aahil Jessani that took two wickets apiece.

With an achievable target in sight, Aga Khan SC had a wobbly start to the chase given opener, Jitendra Gariya, faced an early exit.

Gariya, the outfit’s reliable run getter, was caught by Aces’ Ankit Baghel off a delivery by Mohamed Ali, with nine runs to his name.

Riziki Kiseto and Rehemtulla had a brief stay at the crease, posting 12 runs apiece.

Aahil Jessani and Arslaan Premji added 15 runs apiece.

Aga Khan SC’s efforts to reach the target ended in vain given they posted 92 runs for the loss of nine wickets in 20 overs.

Aces’ Salum Jumbe, Mohamed Ali and captain Bhavesh Govind took two wickets each to dash Aga Khan SC’s dreams of qualifying for the final.

With the competition’s favourites Aga Khan SC and Caravans, already out of the title race, cricket enthusiasts in the city were set to be treated to an equally intriguing clash pitting Aces against Saint Gobain that have lately developed an entertaining rivalry.

Caravans Club has organized the competition under the supervision of Dar es Salaam Regional Cricket Committee (DRCC), aiming at raising the standard of the sport at the domestic level.

This year’s tournament had brought together 10 teams that had been placed in two groups.

Group A had been made up of Union SC, Caravans Club, Gymkhana, Aga Khan SC and Annadil Burhani.

Group B outfits included Aces Club, Shree Kutchi Leva, GP Club, Estim and Saint Gobain Strikers.

Top Stories