ABC, Pazi shine in RBA League

13Feb 2018
The Guardian Reporter
The Guardian
ABC, Pazi shine in RBA League

DAR ES SALAAM basketball giants, ABC hgavean impressive start to their quest for the top honour in this year's regional basketball league with a 71-42 win over Kurasini Heat at the National Indoor Stadium in Dar es Salaam on Sunday.

The eventual winners, led by experienced players Gilbert Batungi, Filbert Mwaipungu and Haleluya Kavalambi made their intention to take control of the match known, as they took a 21-15 lead at the end of the opening quarter.

In the following quarter, ABC kept on tormenting their opponents and led 10-4 at the end of the quarter.

Much as the youthful Kurasini Heat gave their all in the third and fourth quarters, seeking to turn tables on their opponents, their efforts ended in vain.

ABC's skillful shooter Erick Kahangwa led his team mates to take 21-12 and 19-11 lead in the third and fourth quarter respectively and put the game beyond Kurasini Heat's reach.  

Kahangwa scored 18 points for his outfit and Kavalambi chipped in with eight points. Idrissa Shabani and Samson Samson registered seven and four points respectively for Kurasini Heat.

The day also saw Pazi cruise to 64-52 win over Ukonga Kings in the match that was played earlier. 

Ukonga Kings, who posted a slim 15-14 lead in the first quarter, were reduced to novices in the second quarter as Pazi went on to lead 17-5 at the breather.

In the remaining two quarters, Ukonga Kings managed to put a solid showing and scire with ease. They though could not prevent Pazi from posting a 19-16 lead in the third quarter. 

The fourth quarter belonged to Ukonga Kings who took a 16-14 lead, which nevertheless did little to change the course of the match.

This year's regional league, which involves men and women teams, tipped off last Saturday.         

Defending champions Savio, JKT, Oilers, ABC, Vijana, Kurasini Heat, Ukonga Kings, Jogoo, Mabibo Bullet and Pazi are featuring in the men's category.

The women's category consists of defending champions Vijana Queens, Don Bosco Lionesses, JKT Stars, Ukonga Queens and Jeshi Stars. 

Top Stories