All set for Yanga polls on Saturday 

05Jul 2022
Michael Mwebe
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
All set for Yanga polls on Saturday 

​​​​​​​YOUNG Africans 'Yanga' branch members’ representatives will on Saturday converge at the Julius Nyerere International Convention Centre in Dar es Salaam to elect new officials to lead their club for four years.

Yanga's Election Committee Chairman Malangwe Mchungahela.

According to Malangwe Ally Mchungahela, who is chairing the electoral committee mandated to oversee the polls, representatives from branches that held elections before July 5, 2022, will be eligible to participate in the exercise on Saturday.

Mchungahela disclosed in a statement: "The club elections will be held on July 9, 2022, at the Julius Nyerere International Conference Center."

The official revealed: "Candidates are required to campaign for five days, after this press conference today, I will have officially launched the campaign period."

"We extended the branch elections periods to be held until today, so I am announcing that the last branch election should be held today and all branches are supposed to submit the list of representatives to the club headquarters."

"A branch that won’t submit its list of leaders will not be allowed to participate in the election."

Hersi Said Ally is bound to romp into the president's office unopposed given he is the only one who has expressed interest in the position after the current Chairman Mshindo Msolla withdrew his bid.

The current vice-chairman, Fredrick Mwakalebela, is also not contesting for re-election.

Msolla stated: "I picked up the nomination form but after seeing the incumbent has the potential to continue what we set up I saw fit to withdraw my bid."

"I will continue to support him and travel around the country with my colleagues to promote the unity of our club," Msolla disclosed.

Msolla added: “I will personally continue with the two agendas after retirement on Sunday, first I will promote the nationwide unity, and, secondly, I will continue to encourage our fans to continue with the membership registration exercise."

Two contestants have offered to vie for the post of vice-president.

Arafat Haji will flex muscles with Suma Mwaitenda after the former that had planned to opt-out of seeking re-election, having served his term as a committee member, made a u-turn.

Haji said he had accepted members' pleas to vie once again, Suma is the only female candidate going for the top seat in the election.

The executive committee membership race is the most competitive one having initially attracted 27 candidates who are vying for the available five posts.

However, so far 21 candidates have been cleared for the final election.

They are Said Kambi, Gerard Kihinga, Saad Khimji, Semi Yusuf, Seif Gulamali, Munir Selemani, Wilbard Kilenzi, Salim Rupia, Sylvester Haule, Leevan Muro, Omary Kimosa, and Sindilo Lyimo.

Others are Edgar Chibura, Philip Haule, Alexander Ngai, Dominic Albinus, Benjamin Mwakasonda, Rodgers Gumbo, Yanga Makaga, and Mustapha Himba.

Top Stories