Alliance Caravans' cricketers stretch winning run in DC Caravans T20

24Sep 2021
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Alliance Caravans' cricketers stretch winning run in DC Caravans T20

THIS season's Dar es Salaam Cricket (DC) Caravans T20 Cup tournament hosts, Alliance Caravans, went up against Honest Logistics SKLPSC at Leaders Club venue in the city last Sunday, with the latter in very good form having posted victory in two outings.

Alliance Caravans' pacer, Issa Safari (R), receives the NGK Gathani Moment of the Match Award from Suseela Kumar of Petrofuel Limited for his blistering last-over exploits in his outfit's Dar es Salaam Cricket (DC) Caravans T20 Cup tournament clash against Honest Logistics SKLPSC, played last weekend. PHOTO: COURTESY OF CARAVANS CRICKET CLUB

However, it was the hosts that won the toss, elected to bat first, and scored 133 runs dropping seven wickets in 20 overs.

The loss of early wickets, including that of the experienced all-rounder, Jitin Pratap Singh, put the position of Alliance Caravans in jeopardy.

However, Kassim Nassoro continued his hot streak, scoring 40 runs in 33 balls, and was well supported by the youngster, Wilbert Martin (16 runs in 23 balls), resulting in a 70-run partnership that stabilized the innings.

Captain, Sreejith Kumar, and Safvan Annarathodika’s 41-run partnership ensured that the target was a respectable 134 runs.

In return, Honest Logistics SKLPSC started strongly, with openers Naran Vekariya and Dinesh Rabadiya registering a 30-run partnership in just four overs.

However, the disruption of this partnership resulted in the collapse of the chase, given Honest Logistics SKLPSC lost the remaining nine wickets with just 69 runs on the board.

This meant that Alliance Caravans, who did have a nervy start in the duel, managed to comfortably win the match by 64 runs.

For them, it was the U-19 pacers, Johnson Nyambo and Issa Safari, who ripped the Honest Logistics SKLPSC's batting unit into shreds, with Nyambo registering four wickets for 14 runs and Safari, managing to clean up three tailenders without giving away a single run.

Their efforts meant that Nyambo went home with the Colourflex Man of the Match award and Safari’s last over showing won him the NGK Gathani Moment of the Match honour.

With the completion of this match, Alliance Caravans sit comfortably on the top of Group B with a match in hand over second-placed Honest Logistics SKLPSC.

Fixtures for the third week of the tournament have been released with four matches being played at Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club oval and Annadil Burhani ground.

Qualification from Group A is at stake as Aruti Aces takes on FMED Upanga in a match which will see both teams aim for a win.

Elsewhere, NTS Bosch Gymkhana will take on Kaon Lions, Horizon Annadil Burhani will play Aurobindo Aga Khan SC and Group A toppers will be looking to cement their position against NTS Bosch Gymkhana.

The top performers of the tournament thus far have been Zafar Khan (105 runs) with the TATA Orange Cap, and Ally Mpeka (10 wickets) donning the Petrofuel Purple Cap.

The DC Caravans T20 Cup has been held annually since 2015. Petrofuel Limited is the title sponsor of this year’s tournament and is joined by Colourflex, TATA International, and Pepsi as the co-sponsors.

This year’s tournament features the top 10 teams in the country playing under the franchise model with each team being backed by top corporates in the country.

The teams include Aruti Aces, Kaon Lions, Harab Motors Pak Stars, NTS Bosch Gymkhana, and FMED Upanga which have been put in Group A.

Group B is made up of Aurobindo Aga Khan SC, Horizon Teleports Annadil Burhani, Honest Logistics SKLPSC, Balakrishna Strikers and hosts, Alliance Caravans.

Other sponsors of the tournament include NGK Gathani, Jihusu, Flashnet, RAS Logistics, Mlimani City, AOne Bottlers, Kishen Enterprises, Samaki Samaki, Delta Africa, DeepHeat, and G1 Security.

Top Stories