Alliance Caravans make it to knockout phase in 2021 DC Caravans T20 Cu

12Oct 2021
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Alliance Caravans make it to knockout phase in 2021 DC Caravans T20 Cu

THE 2021 Petrofuel Dar es Salaam Cricket (DC) Caravans T20 Cup tournament hosts, Alliance Caravans, took on Balakrishna Strikers at Leaders Club venue in the city last Saturday.

Petrofuel (T) Limited's Managing Director, Satish Kumar (L), hands over the Colourflex Man of the Match award to Nandakishan Pottachira of Alliance Caravans cricket side for the latter's crucial innings in a 2021 Dar es Salaam Cricket (DC) Caravans T20 Cup tournament's tie against Balakrishna Strikers, which took place in the city last weekend. Pottachira's exploits helped his team secure progression to the showdown's knockout stage. PHOTO: COURTESY OF CARAVANS CRICKET CLUB

A win in the duel would have ensured the hosts' qualification for the knockout phase, with Balakrishna Strikers having already been knocked out of the showdown.

Alliance Caravans won the toss and elected to bat first, notching 163 runs losing six wickets in 20 overs.

The opener, Nandakishan Pottachira, was the pick of the batsmen, scoring 52 runs in 38 balls.

By the end of the 20th over, Alliance Caravans registered the 163 runs total, which was massively supported by captain Sreejith Kumar’s quick 23 runs in 13 deliveries.

In return, Balakrishna Strikers struggled to find a decent partnership, with wickets falling at regular intervals.

Nyenje Hashim tried to fight back with 34 runs in 18 deliveries.

However, it was a little too late for the chase, with Balakrishna Strikers being skittled for 124 runs, falling 39 runs short of the target.

This win secured the passage of Alliance Caravans to the knockout stage of the competition.

With this match over, the domestic cricket fanatics' eyes would be set on the match between Alliance Caravans and Aurobindo Aga Khan SC, which had been set to be played on Sunday.

The duels' winners were expected to progress directly to the first semi-final, termed as 'qualifier', and losers would have to play the dreaded playoff, dubbed 'eliminator', against in-form Harab Motors Pak Stars.

For his exploits, Pottachira was awarded the Colourflex Man of the Match award.

The DC Caravans T20 Cup has been held annually since 2015.

Petrofuel Limited is the title sponsor of this year’s tournament and is joined by Colourflex, TATA International, and Pepsi as the co-sponsors.

This year’s tournament features the top 10 teams in the country playing under the franchise model with each team being backed by top corporates in the country.

The teams include Aurobindo Aga Khan SC, Horizon Teleports Annadil Burhani, Honest Logistics SKLPSC, Balakrishna Strikers and hosts, Alliance Caravans.

Aruti Aces, Kaon Lions, Harab Motors Pak Stars, NTS Bosch Gymkhana, and FMED Upanga are the other contenders.

Other sponsors of the tournament include NGK Gathani, Jihusu, Flashnet, RAS Logistics, Mlimani City, AOne Bottlers, Kishen Enterprises, Samaki Samaki, Delta Africa, DeepHeat, and G1 Security.

Top Stories