Azam FC, Yanga confirmed for 2021 CECAFA Kagame Cup

24Jul 2021
Michael Mwebe
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Azam FC, Yanga confirmed for 2021 CECAFA Kagame Cup

MAINLAND Tanzania will be represented by two clubs at the 2021 CECAFA Kagame Cup tournament.

Tanzania's Azam FC's keeper, Razak Abalora (2nd R), challenges Uganda's KCCA FC's attacker when the two sides locked horns in the 2019 CECAFA Kagame Cup tournament's final, which took place in Rwanda.AGENCIES

Vodacom Premier League Champions, Simba SC, which reached the quarterfinal stage of the 2020/21 CAF Champions League, will miss the regional competition for yet to be revealed reasons.

The Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) has confirmed that the regional inter-club competition will take place in Dar es Salaam from August 1-15.

The tournament that is bankrolled by Rwanda's President, Paul Kagame, returns after a two-year break.

Auka Gecheo, the CECAFA Executive Director, said the draw for the regional tournament played between the top clubs will be conducted on July 27.

Gecheo confirmed that the Malawi Premier League side, Big Bullets FC, will take part in the tournament as a guest team.

“This tournament will help our teams in the region prepare for the CAF competitions that start in September. We shall also have a guest team from Malawi to spice up the tournament,” Gecheo said.

Uganda will be represented by the KCCA FC, the tournament's defending champions, and the 2020/2021 Uganda Premier League champions, Express FC.

The tournament will have eight clubs, Atlabara Juba (South Sudan), Yanga (Tanzania), Azam FC (Tanzania), Le Messager Ngozi (Burundi), APR (Rwanda), Tusker (Kenya), and Uganda’s duo of KCCA and Express.

There will be two pools with four clubs in each group. The eight clubs that have confirmed participation include, Yanga, Azam FC (Tanzania), Altabara (South Sudan), Le Messager Ngozi (Burundi).

The list as well includes APR (Rwanda), Express, KCCA (Uganda), Tusker(Kenya), KMKM (Zanzibar), and Big Bullets (Malawi).

Simba SC is the most successful club in this tournament having lifted the title six times.

The tournament was first played in 1967 with Abaluhya FC of Kenya overcoming Simba SC 2-0 in the final.

Last year the tournament did not take place after the COVID-19 pandemic affected most sporting activities including football.

Defending champions, KCCA FC, beat Azam FC in the final to lift the Kagame Cup in Rwanda in 2019.