Caravan cricketers clobber Surat Stars in GP Gymkhana Shield

18Jul 2019
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Caravan cricketers clobber Surat Stars in GP Gymkhana Shield

THE GP Gymkhana Shield tournament’s defending champions, Caravans, have got off to an impressive start, given they walloped Surat Stars by 50 runs at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club DGC oval last Sunday.

Ismaili Community outfit’s Jitender Gariya (R), receives a man of the match prize from a cricket enthusiast, Premji Pindoriya, shortly after Ismaili Community had locked horns with Sandy Super Strikers in this year’s GP Gymkhana Shield competition in Dar es Salaam recently. PHOTO: COURTESY OF NIKHIL PUJARA

Cricket outfits from across the city are battling it out in the 20-over formatted event, which has been organized by the DGC Cricket Section.

With the squad boasting an array of well-drilled players, Caravans made no mistake when they got chance to bat first in the Group D match, posting 148 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 20 overs.

Surat Stars, in response, zealously chased Caravans’ total but the former’s efforts to get down to successful chase ended in vain, given they were skittled for 98 runs in 20overs.

This year’s tournament, which started on July 6 and is set to climax on September 29, has General Petroleum and Premier Refinishes as main sponsors.

ASAR Limited, SBC Tanzania, Mgen Insurance, AFRO Turk, Cartridge World, PS Limited, I& M Bank and Jaykey Trading are the event's co-sponsors.

Cartridge World and Mgen Insurance are, as disclosed DGC Cricket Section Captain Ashish Nagewadia, sponsoring the GP Gymkhana Shield for a third year in a row.

Ismaili Community team and Sandy Super Strikers complete the Group D of this year’s tournament.

Caravans will have to step up their performance this season should the team harbour plans to go for successful title retention bid.

Ismaili Community that made short work of Sandy Super Strikers in the first match are also genuine contenders for silverware in this year’s competition.

Caravans Club won the previous edition of the competition after thrashing Jain Sangh by six wickets in a pulsating final which took place at the DGC oval early in September last year.

Top Stories