Caravans’ cricketers prolong winning run in DRCC Caravans T20 Cup

05Dec 2019
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Caravans’ cricketers prolong winning run in DRCC Caravans T20 Cup

CARAVANS’ cricketers have stretched their winning run in this year’s DRCC Caravans T20 Cup, beating rivals Aga Khan SC by three wickets in Dar es Salaam early this week.

The eventual winners’ spirited showing in the pulsating Group A clash, which took place at Leaders Club venue, helped them come out with the crucial win and boost their search for a place in the knockout stage.


Caravans, the competition’s defending champions, chose to bowl after they had won the toss, limiting their opponents to 119 runs all out in 19.2 overs.

Aga Khan SC got off to an impressive start in the innings, thanks to their top order batsmen’s scintillating showing.

Openers, Jitendra Gariya and Arslaan Premji, scored 27 runs and 23 runs respectively and Khalil Rehemtullah, who batted at number three, posted 20 runs.

Gariya ended with four fours in his spell, Premji notched a six and Rehemtulla ended with two fours.

Aga Khan SC were pegged back with an early dismissal of key all-rounder Riziki Kiseto, considering he was dismissed by Caravans’ Gokul Das with paltry three runs to his name.

Harsheed Chouhan, Yash Desai and Vipin Abraham attempted to steady the ship after they had notched 14 runs, 11 runs and 12 runs respectively.

Batting collapse the team faced in the closing stages of the innings proved costly.

Caravans’ bowler, Gokul Das, had an impressive bowling figure, ending his spell with seven wickets and leaking 15 runs in four overs.

His scintillating showing was vital in the outfit’s efforts to frustrate the opponents’ attempt to finish the innings with a massive total.  

Needing 120 runs to notch victory, the defending champions had a somewhat wobbly start in their innings, given young opening batsmen, Mohamed Omary and Ivan Ismail, did not stay long at the crease.

Ismail posted 14 runs, which included two fours and a six. Omary recorded 15 runs, which included three fours.

The side’s search for successful chase was dealt a blow, given two key batsmen, Kassim Nassor and Jitin Singh, made their way back to the pavilion in quick succession, recording nine runs and seven runs respectively.

Das, nevertheless, stepped at the crease to steady the ship, nailing 30 runs not out, which consisted of a four.

Das’ stellar all-round exploits deservedly won him man of the match prize.

Sreejith Kumar, the squad’s skipper, later on forged partnership with Manoj Kumar, helping their team live up to expectations for the loss seven wickets in 18.4 overs.

Sreejith and Kumar had notched 23 runs and 10 runs respectively, helping their outfit command three wins in three outings.

Caravans have, in the process, brought Aga Khan SC’s unbeaten spell to an end.

Aga Khan SC were boasting of victory in two outings heading to the clash with Caravans.

Caravans Club has hosted the tournament, which is held annually, under the auspices of Dar es Salaam Regional Cricket Committee (DRCC), targeting to promote the game at the domestic level.

This year’s competition’s sponsors include Petrofuel, Alliance Insurance, Grand Restaurant, Colourflex, RAS Logistics and SBC through Pepsi brand.