Caravans T20 cricket tourney gets underway

30Sep 2016
Japheth Kazenga
The Guardian
Caravans T20 cricket tourney gets underway

ESTIM Eleven cricketers will begin their quest for the top honour in this year’s DRCC Caravans T20 tournament by facing Hi Tech Sai Blasters in a group A’s match at the Leaders Club ground in Dar es Salaam on Sunday.

Sixteen outfits will lock horns in the tournament organised by the Dar es Salaam Regional Cricket Committee (DRCC) in cooperation with Caravans Club.

The teams have been grouped into A, B, C and D. Group A teams are Saint Gobain, General Petroleum, Estim Eleven and Hi Tech Sai Blasters, group B consists of Lions, Veecom Knights, Telegu Royals and Aga Khan SC.

Dik Diks, Union Sports, Caravans and Sandy’s Super Strikers make group C, group D teams include Indian Super Kings, Gymkhana, Telegu Stars and Aces.

The day will also see two more matches take place at the same venue, in which Dik Diks will confront tournament hosts, Caravans and the other game will pit Telegu Stars against Gymkhana.

Caravans settled for the runners-up spot in the last year’s tournament after losing to Aga Khan SC in the final.

A lot is therefore expected from the tournament hosts as they seek to build up on their last year’s achievement.

DRCC official, Sanjay Bhatia, said the remaining fixture for the tournament will be released in due course as the committee waits for confirmation of availability of the venues.

Each team, he said, will play other teams in their group once and the top two teams in each of the groups will progress to the last eight’s stage.

The quarterfinalists will be determined by net run rate, points and head to head results in the event of further tie.

DRCC T20 tournaments’ playing conditions will be adopted for the DRCC Caravans T20 tournament, as noted by the official.

Bhatia also said players from teams that are not participating in the DRCC Caravans T20 tournament are free to play for any team registered only for the tournament.

International Cricket Council (ICC) Code of Conduct and ODI playing conditions will be applied.

A team that achieves a run rate of 1.25 times that of the opposing side shall be awarded one bonus point.

A team’s run rate will be calculated by reference to the runs scored in an innings divided by the number of balls faced.

The team that takes all of the opposing side’s wickets shall be awarded one bonus point, as per the tournament’s conditions.