Dar Khalsa win hockey league title

19Sep 2016
Japheth Kazenga
The Guardian
Dar Khalsa win hockey league title

DAR Khalsa A laid hands on the men’s category silverware in the Dar es Salaam regional hockey league after commanding a 4-2 win over Tanzania People’s Defence Force (TPDF) A in an entertaining final played in the city on Saturday.

Squad of new Dar es Salaam hockey title winners, Dar Khalsa.

Spirited displays by Dar Khalsa A tuned out to be decisive in the squad’s victory in the game played at the Jakaya Kikwete Youth Park, in which the team made the most of its chances when pushing forward and defending zealously as well.

Gurjit Panesar emerged as the team’s hero in the game when he slotted in all four goals, whereas TPDF A’s dependable goal getter, Amos Nghambala, scored the team’s two goals.

Panesar opened the scoring for Dar Khalsa A in the 35th second, punishing TPDF A for the latter’s defensive flaw. The skilful Dar Khalsa A player then found TPDF A’s back of the net on the fourth minute, in which he finished off a good move from the right side of the pitch.

Dar Khalsa A kept on putting pressure on TPDF A thereafter, with the former’s pace and dribbling skills proving to be too much for the latter.

Panesar registered the third for his team on seventh minute following yet another good move by the team which ended with the player calmly connecting home a pin-point cross from the left.

Nghambala managed to pull one goal back for TPDF A on the 20th minute, finishing off a well calculated move by the army outfit but Panesar made sure of Dar Khalsa’s victory with the fourth goal on the 25th minute.

TPDF A, though, refused to go down without a fight as the team pushed forward in search of goals during the closing stages. The army outfit’s efforts paid off as Nghambala notched his second goal on the 28th minute.

TPDF ladies emerged as champions of the league’s women category with a hard fought 2-1 win over favourites, Twende B, in an equally exciting final played at the same venue earlier.

Twende B, boasting of experienced players that also features for the senior national women hockey team, deservedly went ahead on the fifth minute through Fransisca Kyaro.

TPDF ladies, led by experienced skipper Leah Shan, nevertheless calmed their nerves and drew level on the 16th minute through Rehema Moyo. The two outfits then pushed forward in earnest but failed to convert several good scoring opportunities they got.

Twende B had a goal controversially disallowed later in the game and the team strongly contested the match official’s decision, a situation that forced the game to be halted for several minutes.

Shan then put the game beyond Twende B’s reach a minute before the final whistle as she capitalised on poor defending.

Dar Khalsa B secured the third position in the men’s category after they were awarded victory over Dar Stars. Dar Stars left the pitch in protest of what would have been the second goal by their opponents, a move that was deemed to have contravened the league’s rules.

The fifth and sixth positions’ playoffs in the category pitting Tanzania Prisons against TPDF B ended with the former winning 2-1. Merica Kahola scored the opening goal for Prisons in the early stages of the game and teammate, Abdallah Madodo added the second later. Juma Juma slotted in what turned out to be a consolation goal for TPDF B.

The category’s seventh and eight positions’ play off between Dar Khalsa C and Dar Khalsa D ended with the former cruising to a 7-3 win. Issa Murithi registered four goals, Mihir Gohil had brace and Harvir Chana scored one goal for Dar Khalsa C. Dar Khalsa D’s goals were scored by Balraj Mudher, Akash Chohan and Suraj Dala.

Champions and runner-up in both men and women categories were presented with medals and trophies. UN Women, Sikh Temple and NMB sponsored the league that brought together 28 outfits.