Defender Kelvin Yondani returns to Taifa Stars

27Feb 2021
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Defender Kelvin Yondani returns to Taifa Stars

TANZANIA's senior national soccer team 'Taifa Stars' head coach Kim Poulsen has called veteran defender, Kelvin Yondani, back to the squad after the latter's long absence in the squad.

Taifa Stars' defender, Kelvin Yondani.

Promising forward, Yohana Mkomola, has moreover earned a first senior national team's call-up.

Poulsen yesterday announced a squad which will prepare to play in the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against Equatorial Guinea and Libya, which will take place next month.

Yondani, who currently features for Premier League outfit, Polisi Tanzania, was absent from Taifa Stars, which took part in the 2021 African Nations Championship (CHAN) hosted by Cameroon, much as he was one of the players who had helped the squad secure progression to the showpiece.

The players is said to have not been selected for the national team once he had left his previous outfit Yanga.

Yanga had released the no nonsense defender after the outfit's contract with him had come to a close.

The player joined Polisi Tanzania during this season's mini transfer window and he is playing for the squad in domestic top flight matches.

Mkomola, who plays professional football in Ukraine for Inhulets Petrove, will be donning Taifa Stars' kits for the first time.

The youthful attacker last turned out for national U-17 soccer team, Serengeti Boys.

Poulsen said he has selected some of players from the national U-20 squad to play for Taifa Stars with the aim of seeing to it they have consistency.

He stated: "We are preparing the youngsters for the next few years and that is why we are also giving them the opportunity to be part of the Taifa Stars.''

The Taifa Stars' players selected by Poulsen:

Goalkeepers: Aishi Manula (Simba) Metacha Mnata (Yanga) Juma Kaseja (KMC FC)

Defenders: Shomari Kapombe (Simba) Hassan Kessy (Mtibwa Sugar) Israel Mwenda (KMC) Erasto Nyoni (Simba) Bakari Nondo Mwamnyeto (Yanga) Dickson Job (Yanga) Kelvin Yondani (Tanzania Police) Carlos Protus (Namungo) Kennedy Juma (Simba), Laurent Alfred (Azam FC), Mohamed Hussein (Simba) David Bryson (KMC FC) Nickson Kibabage (Cabyfootofficiel, Morocco) Yassin Mustapha (Yanga), Edward Charles Manyama (Ruvu Shooting).

Midfielders: Simon Msuva (Wydad Casablanca, Morocco) Hassan Dilunga (Simba) Ayoub Lyanga (Azam FC) Novatus Dismas (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel), Mzamiru Yassin (Simba) Jonas Mkude (Simba) Said Ndemla (Simba) Feisal Salum (Yanga) Himid Mao (Entag El Harby, Egypt) Ally Msengi (Stellenbosch South Africa), Salum Aboubakar 'Sure Boy' (Azam FC) Baraka Majogoro (Mtibwa Sugar) Farid Mussa (Yanga) Iddi Seleman (Azam FC).

Forwards: Ditram Nchimbi (Yanga), Mbwana Samatta (Fenerbahche, Turkey) Thomas Ulimwengu (TP Mazembe, DRC) John Bocco (Simba SC), Oscar Mkomola (Ukraine) Shaaban Iddi Chilunda (Matfoot_officiel, Morocco)  Deus kaseke (Yanga) Abdul Hamis Suleiman (Coastal Union), Kelvin John (Brook House College Academy, England), Nassor Saadun Hamoud (MFK Vyskov, Czech Republic) and Meshack Abraham (Gwambina FC).

Top Stories