Injury hit Kilimanjaro Stars final squad revealed

06Dec 2019
Michael Mwebe
The Guardian
Injury hit Kilimanjaro Stars final squad revealed

MAINLAND Tanzania football team ‘Kilimanjaro Stars’ technical bench under head coach Juma Mgunda has released the final list of 22 players for the 2019 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup tournament.

Kilimanjaro Stars

Kilimanjaro Stars have been hit by an injury crisis - leaving them without four players from Mainland Premier League side, Azam FC.

The players, Idd Selemani, Frank Domayo, Salum Abubakar, and Shaban Chilunda, were expected to play a key role in Kilimanjaro Stars’ first team.

There is also no place for KMC FC goalkeeper Juma Kaseja, who is recovering from an injury that has sidelined him in recent league matches.

In the absence of Chilunda, Sweden-based striker, Rashid Chambo, has been included in the squad which will now look up to Ditram Nchimbi, Paul Nonga, Eliuter Mpepo and Miraji Athuman to provide the cutting edge up front.

The team travelled to Uganda on Thursday after completing four days training together for four days. On Sunday, Kilimanjaro Stars will play the first Group B match against title holders, Kenya, at Lugogo Stadium in Kampala.

The second game will come against Zanzibar on Tuesday before finalizing the group matches with a hot duel against Sudan on Thursday.

The top two teams in groups A and B will qualify for the semi-finals.

Despite being one of the founding members of CECAFA, Mainland Tanzania has won the Senior Challenge Cup a mere three times, while record holders and hosts, Uganda, have triumphed 14 times. Kenya have won it seven times.

Nine years since Kilimanjaro Stars last won the regional title, there is high expectation this team will do better than they did in the 2017 finals in Kenya where they suffered the embarrassment of finish last in a group that had Rwanda, Zanzibar Heroes and guest team, Libya.

Kilimanjaro Stars full squad


Metacha Mnata (Yanga), David Kissu (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Aishi Manula (Simba)


Juma Abdul (Yanga), Nickson Kibabage (Difaa el Jadidi, Morocco), Gadiel Michael (Simba), Mwaita Gereza (Kagera Sugar), Mohamed Hussein (Simba), Bakari Mwamnyeto (Coastal Union), Kelvin Yondani (Yanga)


Baraka Majogoro (Police Tanzania), Jonas Mkude (Simba), Zawadi Mauya (Kagera Sugar), Mzamiru Yassin (Simba), Hassan Dilunga (Simba) and Cleophace Mkandala (Prisons)


Paul Nonga (Lipuli) Miraji Athuman (Simba), Eliuter Mpepo (Buildcon, Zambia), Lucas Kikoti (Namungo FC) Ditram Nchimbi (Police Tanzania), and Rashid Chambo (IK Frej Taby, Sweden)

Top Stories