Ismaili cricketers lift GP Gymkhana Shield tourney trophy

04Oct 2019
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Ismaili cricketers lift GP Gymkhana Shield tourney trophy

ISMAILI Community cricket team were crowned this season’s GP Gymkhana Shield competition’s champions after notching 23-run win over defending champions, Caravans, in a pulsating final which took place in Dar es Salaam last weekend.

Ismaili Community cricket team in a group picture after the final of this season’s GP Gymkhana Shield tournament, which took place in Dar es Salaam last weekend. Ismaili Community grabbed victory over Caravans in the final.

Dar e Salaam Gymkhana Club (DGC) Cricket Section hosted the competition, with matches taking place at the club’s oval.

Ismaili Community team’s veteran skipper, Ayzaz Jessani, elected to bat after his side had won the toss with the pitch showing signs of being a batsmen’s haven.

They were given a solid start by openers, Jitendra Gariya and Akbar Khan, in the first six overs. Gariya posted 18 runs, which included a four, Khan scored 18 runs, which consisted of three fours.

Khalil Rehemtullah, the outfit’s best performer in the semi-finals who batted at number three in the final, was once again in fine form, scoring a quick 50.

His exploits set the stage for a late onslaught by youngster, Harsheed Chohan, who recorded 25 runs not out.  

Youngster Abdallah Jabir chipped in with 18 runs and Ismaili Community ended their 20 overs with 151 runs for five wickets.

Caravans started their reply in fine form and were pushing the run rate close to 10 in an over at the start of their innings.

However after hammering Harsheed for three fours in an over, Caravans’ Ivan Ismail gave away his wicket, which started the uncertainty within the Caravans squad.

Unfortunately for Caravans, their two in-form players, Ismail and Kassim Nassor, pulled up with match ending injuries which hampered their efforts to chase Ismaili’s total.

At one point Caravans were going on well despite the challenges they faced, but a fine over from Ismaili’s spinner Aryaan Premji, who was voted the best bowler of the tournament, frustrated the defending champions‘ chase.

The young bowler took the key wicket of Jitin Singh, who was voted the best player of the tournament.

Singh’s dismissal ended all hopes for Caravans, when it came to getting down to successful chase.

Singh was Caravans’ top run getter, registering 38 runs which included three fours.

They were eventually bowled out for 128 runs in 19.2 overs. The bowling performance belonged to Malik Alsani, who came of age and bowled an outstanding spell of three overs, 16 runs and five wickets for Ismaili Community team.

His performance eventually won him the man of the match prize, as well as catapulting his team to the win.

Athuman Siwa was awarded the tournament’s best umpire, Jain Sangh’s skipper, Abhik Patwa, got the tournament’s best batsman award.

Ashish Shah took the competition’s best upcoming player award.

The DGC Cricket Section Captain Ashish Nagewadia stated that the tournament was a huge success and he was impressed with the quality of cricket played during this year’s competition. 

He further congratulated Ismaili Community squad for being crowned champions and applauded Caravans’ efforts to book a place in the competition’s final for the second consecutive year.

He further appreciated all support given to the tournament by the sponsors.

General Petroleum were the competition’s main sponsors, with Premium Refinishes being the event’s co-sponsors.

The tournament was also supported by Mgen Tanzania, Sayona Drinks, SBC Tanzania, JayKey Trading, AFRO Turk, ASAR Limited and I&M Bank.