Kangwa names Zambia provisional squad COSAFA U-17 Women Championship

11Sep 2019
The Guardian
Kangwa names Zambia provisional squad COSAFA U-17 Women Championship

ZAMBIA coach Kaluba Kangwa has named a provisional squad for the COSAFA Women’s Under-17 Championship to be played in Mauritius from September 20-29.

Mapalo Kapindula of Zambia is challenged by Aisha Masaka and Eva Wailes Jackson of Tanzania during the 2019 COSAFA U-20 Women Championship final match that took place at Wolfson Stadium, Port Elizabeth in South Africa on August 11. PHOTO; COURTESY OF SAMUEL SHIVAMBU

The 30-player squad is the best of the young talent in Zambia and will take aim at the inaugural regional title in this age-group.

The provisional squad includes a number of players who are still 14 and 15 years old as Kangwa builds a squad for the next set of FIFA Women’s Under-17 qualifiers with the global finals to be staged in India next year.

No player is older than 16 in what is an exciting young group for the competition.   

Zambia have been drawn in Group A and open their campaign against East African guest nation Uganda on September 20.

They will then meet Comoros two days later and round out their pool play against the hosts Mauritius on Sept. 24.    

Kangwa will be assisted by Naomi Phiri, with Yusuf Lumu to act as Goalkeeper Coach.

Zambia squad:Goalkeepers: Magret Chileshe, Inghu’tu Muchahabali, Blessing Kazila, Annastasia Changwa, Thresa Banda

Defenders: Dorica Malunga, Margret Yambe, Luty Kamanga, Martha Katila Banda, Patrica Mumba, Mary Phiri, Esther Siafunko, Judith Chibulu, Tefeonga Munene

Midfielders: Edah Lungu, Inonge Muyamwa, Esther Banda, Mawela Glory Chilenga, Shelly Masumo, Cindy Banda, Tisilile Lungu, Thelma Munkombwe, Comfort Selemani, Paulina Zulu, Eniless Kashimbo, Josephine Phiri

Strikers: Precious Nsama, Florence Kasonde, Debora Kaimbo, Jessy Zulu

In another development, the COSAFA Men’s Under-17 Championship will be played for a fourth year in a row in Blantyre, Malawi from October 11-20, the most consistent period of tournaments in its history after a nine-year hiatus between 2007 and 2016.

All three of those tournaments were played in Mauritius, but the competition now switches to Malawi where it will be staged for the second time

Eight sides will enter the 2019 edition, namely Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa and Zambia.