Karatu venue to host 2020 CECAFA U-20 Championship opener, final

21Nov 2020
The Guardian
Karatu venue to host 2020 CECAFA U-20 Championship opener, final

ARUSHA’s Black Rhino Academy Stadium, a modern venue found in Karatu District, will host the opening match of the forthcoming Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) U-20 Championship.

Tanzania’s U-20 soccer team, Ngorongoro Heroes.

By Correspondents Marc Nkwame & Ismail Tano

Over 270 delegates from the nine countries are set to participate in the CECAFA U-20 Championship, whose opening event is scheduled to be whistled out in Karatu on Sunday.

The Black Rhino Academy’s venue is among the two venues in Arusha on which the regional football football extravaganza is going to be staged.

“The Black Rhino Academy Stadium of Karatu is probably the best venue in the country after Dar es Salaam’s Benjamin Mkapa Stadium, ‘’ Arusha Regional Commissioner, Idd Kimanta, stated.

 Kimanta noted that the championship’s opening match will see Tanzania’s U-20 team, Ngorongoro Heroes, host Djibouti U-20 team.

The Sheikh Amri Abeid Stadium, located at the heart of Arusha city, is the championship’s other venue.

There will be two matches played per day, the first from midday (1.00pm) and the second from 4.00pm.

Running between November 22 and December 2, 2020, the CECAFA U-20 Championship will bring to Arusha teams from, among other African countries, Kenya, Uganda, Burundi, Somalia, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Sudan and hosts, Tanzania.

The Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) previously confirmed the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has ordered that the CECAFA U-20 Championship should be played behind closed doors in the wake of the global efforts to fight against Covid-19 pandemic.

The CECAFA U-20 Championship’s matches will be played in three groups’ fixtures.

Group A comprises Tanzania, Somalia and Djibouti, Group B has been made up of Uganda, Burundi and South Sudan, while Group C teams are Kenya, Ethiopia and Sudan.

After the Tanzania’s Ngorongoro Heroes’ opening match against Djibouti U-20 team in Karatu on Sunday, Kenya will play against Ethiopia the following day at Sheikh Amri Abeid Stadium in the afternoon.

Uganda is also to play against South Sudan at the same venue later in the evening.

Meanwhile, a 25-man squad making Ngorongoro Heroes has been unveiled by TFF.

Players making the Ngorongoro Heroes are Zuberi Foba from Azam FC, Rahim Abdallah from KMC FC, Razack Shekimweli from Mtibwa Sugar, David Kameta from Simba SC, Paschal Gaudence from Azam FC, Omary Jumanne from Mtibwa Sugar, Laurent Alfred from Azam FC and Samwel Jackson from Ihefu FC.

Others are Anderson Solomon from Dodoma Jiji FC, David Bryson from KMC FC, Shabani Kingazi from Mwadui FC, Yunus Abdulkarim from Yanga, Joseph Mkere from Mtibwa Sugar, Frank Kahole from Mtibwa Sugar, Khefflin Salum from Azam FC and Kassim Shabani from Police Tanzania.

Abdul Suleiman from Coastal Union, Tepsi Evans from Ihefu FC, Abdulrazack Mohammed from Mbeya City FC, Kelvin John from England’s Leicester City Academy, Neno Modest from Coastal Union, Nassor Saadun from MFK Vyscov of Czech Republic, Gadi Mussa from African Lyon, Anuar Jabir from Dodoma Jiji FC and Ben Antony from SV Wilhelmshaven of Germany also make the list.

This year's CECAFA U-20 Championship will have only one team to be fielded by the hosts.

In the previous years’ competitions, which took place in Tanzania, the hosts fielded two teams from Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar.

With the hosts fielding one squad, Ngorongoro Heroes, therefore, have players from Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar

Top Stories