Ruaha Titans lift 2021 TCA Dar es Salaam U-18 tournament's trophy

22Jul 2021
By Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Ruaha Titans lift 2021 TCA Dar es Salaam U-18 tournament's trophy

RUAHA Titans' cricketers have clinched this season's Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) Dar es Salaam U-18 Tournament's silverware with a six-wicket victory over Serengeti Blasters in the final, which took place in the city last Sunday.

Ruaha Titans' cricketers in a group photo after taking on Serengeti Blasters in the 2021 Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) Dar es Salaam U-18 Tournament's final, held in the city last weekend. Ruaha Titans lifted the showdown's silverware, beating Serengeti Blasters by six wickets. PHOTO: COURTESY OF TCA

Serengeti Blasters had a chance to start batting, amassing 138 runs and losing three wickets in 20 overs.

Skipper Ally Hafidh ended eight runs short of a half-century, blasting four fours as the outfit sought to end the innings with an imposing score.

Hafidh, one of the two batsmen with not out showing, cleared the boundary on four occasions in the overall impressive displays at the crease.

The club's opening batsmen, Sayan Vijay Jobanputra and Colly Ambogo, as well had a significant contribution during their outfit's batting stint.

Ambogo notched 29 runs, which included three fours, and Jobanputra recorded 30 runs, clearing the boundary on two occasions.

Dylan Manish Thakrar and Dylan Manish Thakrar chipped in with 18 runs, consisting of two fours, and 10 runs not out, which included a four, respectively.

In response, Ruaha Titans put a spirited performance and got down to a successful chase for the loss of four wickets in 19.2 overs.

Skipper Brijesh Hitesh Kakkad made his presence felt with solid batting and posted 58 runs, which consisted of six fours.

The youngster played a pivotal role in the successful chase, ensuring his club is in control of the innings after a relatively brief spell the opening batsmen, Burhanuddin Jamalee and Aaditya Bhattbhatt, had.

Jamalee notched 17 runs, cracking three fours, his fellow opener scored 14 runs which consisted of a boundary.

John David, slotted in at number four, helped move to within reach of successful chase with his 16 runs, which consisted of a boundary.

Laksh Snehal ended two runs short of a two-digit score, ending as the batsman with not out stint as well.

Ruaha Titans also had the last laugh in the individual performance, considering Brijesh Kakkad was voted as the final's best player.

Much as Serengeti Blasters' Jobanputra posted two wickets in four overs, his efforts could not help the team defend its total.

Serengeti Blasters had made it to the final after notching a 13-run victory over Mikumi Hitters in the semi-final, which took place last weekend.

Ruaha Titans had to deploy all skills at their disposal to cruise to an 11-run victory over Manyara Heroes in the semi-final.

Serengeti Blasters' skipper, Hafidh, was voted as the showpiece's best player, the best bowler prize went to Serengeti Blasters' Dylan Thakrar.

Serengeti Blasters' Ambogo won the best batsman award, Ruaha Titans' Burhanuddin Jamalee was presented with the best wicket-keeper prize.

Farhaan Mohamed of Serengeti Blasters was presented with the showpiece's best upcoming player prize.

Top Stories