Tanzania should invest in rugby junior program- call

13Mar 2018
Edward Qorro
The Guardian
Tanzania should invest in rugby junior program- call

TANZANIA could be at par with Kenya in rugby game if the former invests in nurturing young talents in the sport, it has been observed.

Secondary schools students participate in a rugby clinic in Arusha last weekend. PHOTO: EDWARD QORRO

The head of Human Resources with G4S Tanzania, Imelda Lutebinga said here at the weekend that the country will be able to compete with the likes of Kenya and other countries that have earned a name in the sport, if sports stakeholders decide to put young talents to good use. 

“Even though this is still a new game in the country, it is capable of toppling other sports such as soccer and get to the same level as Kenya, should we capitalize on these young talents,” Lutebinga said.

She was one of the guests in a rugby clinic jointly organized by the security company and Bhubesi Pride Foundation, an organization which assembles teams of committed volunteers to carry out annual rugby coaching expeditions, using the sport as a tool for education and development in Africa. 

The G4S Tanzania official refuted claims that rugby was a sport for the elites, appealing to sports stakeholders to establish rugby clubs in secondary schools in the country. 

“There is a need of incorporating international schools if we are to raise the game and take it to the next level,” she opined. 

The five-day clinic which brought together more than 400 students from seven schools in the region sought to familiarize the students with the sport. 

The schools include Arusha School, Meru, Makumbusho and Levolosi. Others are Magereza, Burka and Kambi ya Maziwa. 

More than 2400 students have been trained on the game through a joint partnership between the foundation and the security firm. 

The Bhubesi Pride Foundation carries out annual coaching expeditions, supporting rugby and community development in schools and community centers in nine countries across east and southern Africa. 

The countries include Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Malawi, Zambia, Botswana, Namibia and South Africa.