Tanzania wallops Rwanda in ICC Women T20 Qualifiers     

13May 2019
The Guardian Reporter
The Guardian
Tanzania wallops Rwanda in ICC Women T20 Qualifiers     

TANZANIA‘s omen cricket squad has ended its campaign in the ICC Women T20 Qualifiers, Africa on a high, thrashing Rwanda by 38 runs at the Old Hararians Sports Club in Zimbabwe last weekend.

Tanzania’s women cricket team celebrates claiming victory over Mozambique in this year’s ICC Women T20 Qualifiers, Africa in Zimbabwe last weekend.

It was a third win in a row for the Tanzania girls that had also posted wins over Mozambique and Nigeria in the East Africans’ previous two games.

Despite having downed Rwanda, Tanzania has missed out on qualification for the competition’s final as Zimbabwe made short work of Nigeria to secure a place in the final.

Tanzania girls’ chances for qualification for the final hinged on the squad’s emphatic win over Rwanda but the former also had to pray Zimbabwe succumb to defeat to Nigeria.

In the match against Rwanda, Tanzania girls won the toss, elected to bat and notched 114 runs for six wickets in 20 overs.

Opening batter, Fatuma Omary was again in great form as she ended two runs short of a half-century, with her score consisting of six fours.

She was so far the one with meaningful batting showing in the innings with Nasra Nassor posting 16 runs not out that included three fours and Neema Justin chipping in with 11 runs that consisted of two fours.

Henriette Ishimwe was so far the only player with significant contribution with the ball for Rwanda, taking two wickets in three overs.

Needing 115 runs to win, Rwanda girls gave their all in the chase, their efforts though ended in vain, given they managed 76 runs for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs.

Henriette scored a 14-ball 21 and fellow batters Alice Ikuzwe, Veronica Iriho and Antoinate Uwimbabazi chipped in with 16 runs not out, 15 runs and 11 runs not out respectively.

Perice Zakayo had the best day with the ball, leading a successful attempt by Tanzania to foil Rwanda’s chase with two wickets in four overs.

The competition’s final, which was scheduled for yesterday, was set to pit Namibia against Zimbabwe.

Namibia had ended the Group B of the qualifiers with a perfect record of three wins in as many matches to book a place in the final.

The tournament hosts had an equally good run, notching four wins in four matches to stay within reach of qualification for the ICC Women T20 World Qualifiers.

Tanzania girls, in the end, settled for the second spot in the Group A with three victories and a loss.

The Africa regional qualifying tournament for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, which started on May 5, was set to climax on Sunday.

The participating teams are Zimbabwe, Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania and Uganda.

The tournament is looking to build on an excellent run of African qualifying events of late, after a dramatic U-19 tournament in Namibia, as well as the rapidly approaching Men’s T20 World Cup, Africa Finals tournament in Uganda later this month.

Uganda are the defending champions for the women's tournament, having memorably held off Zimbabwe in Windhoek two years ago.

The hosts will be out to settle that score, and also to do well in front of their home supporters.

As women's cricket continues to flourish in Africa, it is tournaments of this nature that will ensure that the game thrives even further, and this is thus an important week for the region.

The group winners at the end of the week will contest the final, where the winner will seal passage to the Global Qualifiers.

The competition’s champions will secure a place in both ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers 2019 and ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2020.

Fifteen teams across two regional tournaments are competing for top spot to continue their journey to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 and ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021.

Six teams competing in East Asia Pacific Qualifiers and nine teams taking part in Africa Qualifiers as Road to Australia 2020 and New Zealand 2021 continues.

The ICC Women’s Qualifiers, East Asia Pacific started on May 6 in Vanuatu where 15 T20 internationals are played in the five-day tournament.

Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, PNG, Samoa and Vanuatu are all two steps away from the Australia T20 and New Zealand 50 over World Cups, and will be fighting for top spot to keep their hopes alive.

Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leona, Tanzania, Uganda and hosts Zimbabwe are battling it out in ICC Women’s Qualifier Africa from May 6 for the top spot to continue their journey.

The five regional tournaments act as a dual qualifier for the 27 teams in their pursuit for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers places taking place in Scotland between 31 August and September 7 this year where they will join Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland and Thailand.

In the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2020 they will join confirmed teams Bangladesh, Ireland and Thailand.