Tanzania wins 2022 CANA Zone 3 Swimming Championships title 

21Nov 2022
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Tanzania wins 2022 CANA Zone 3 Swimming Championships title 

TANZANIA's national swimming team, alias 'Tanzanite', has triumphed in the 2022 African Swimming Confederation (CANA) Zone Three Championships that took place in Dar es Salaam last weekend.

Tanzania's national team swimmers and officials celebrate after winning 2022 African Swimming Confederation (CANA) Zone 3 Championships' title in the showpiece which took place at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club swimming pool last weekend. PHOTO: CORRESPONDENT

The Tanzanite squad collected 3,061 points to overshadow the other nine countries' teams that featured in the event held at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club's swimming pool.

Apart from Tanzania, other participating countries were Uganda, Zambia, South Africa, Burundi, Sudan, Djibouti, Rwanda, and Ethiopia. The success has for that matter witnessed Tanzania emerge as the continental showdown's winner for the third time in history.

The second place was won by swimmers who were given chance to compete in the event while their country has been suspended. The swimmers collected 2,768 while Uganda finished third with 2,521.50 points, and Zambia settled for fourth place with 1,878 points.

The fifth position was won by South Africa after collecting 1,385. 50 points while Burundi ended in the sixth position after collecting 653 points, followed by South Sudan which came seventh after collecting 213 points.

The results show that Djibouti notched 87 points, Rwanda (67 points), and Ethiopia (47 points) finishing eighth, ninth, and 10th respectively in the competition's log.

Speaking yesterday, Tanzania Swimming Association (TSA)’s organizing committee Chairperson Hadija Shebe congratulated the swimmers’ performances in the championships that attracted 263 swimmers from 10 countries.

Tanzania fielded 63 swimmers who were coached by Alexander Mwaipasi, Michael Livingstone, Kanisi Mabena, Zubeir Likoko, Odilo Kamata, Thobias Mwangunga, and Msabila Charles.

Hadija said they are extremely proud of the swimmers' results and winning the showdown's title for the third time in history.

“We feel proud of the victory and this is the third time in history our swimmers win the title,” she said.

Tanzania won the title for the first time in 2016 in Kigali, Rwanda, and later won it in 2017 in the championships held in its backyard.

The TSA boss also commended the swimmers, coaches and the association for ensuring the showdown takes place in the country and facilitating the hosts' swimmers' triumph.