Telugu Royals win Nyerere cricket title

31May 2016
Japheth Kazenga
The Guardian
Telugu Royals win Nyerere cricket title

RAAHIL Krishna starred with bat and ball as Telugu Royals emerged champions of the Division A of this year’s Mwalimu Nyerere tournament with a two-wicket win over Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) U-19 team in the final played at the University of Dar es Salaam venue on Sunday.’s batsman Rashid Amri (R) attempts to hit the ball as Tata Tanzania wicket keeper Issa Kikasi readies for a catch during APL league.

Krishna had a five-ball 19 and took three wickets to guide his side to the first silverware in the tournament organised by the Dar es Salaam Regional Cricket Committee (DRCC).

After having won the toss, U-19 team opted to bat and scored 115 runs all out in 23.3 overs of the 30-over limited game.
Aahil Jessani was the squad’s top run scorer with 21 off 30 balls (one boundary), as opener Jumanne Mohamed chipping in with 18 runs off 20 balls (one boundary).

Umang Somani (11 runs off nine balls, one boundary) and Rijal Fentu 10 runs off 25 balls) were the other batsmen that helped the team post a formidable total.

Krishna successfully led the rest of Telugu Royals’ bowlers in halting the U-19 squad from setting up a challenging target by taking the three wickets, while bowling partners, Shiva and Bussi, taking two wickets apiece.

Telugu Royals, in response, got down to a successful chase of their opponents’ score for the loss of eight wickets in 29.2 overs.

The team struggled to score runs in the early stages of the innings, with opening batsman, Shiva, fell to U19 team’s bowler, Somani, after scoring six runs off four balls.

The team’s other top order batsman, Vishnu, also had a rather frustrating day at the crease, managing five runs off four balls before he was dismissed by U-19 team’s Harsheed Chohan.

Krishna and Suman (30 runs off 22 balls one boundary) though, helped Telugu stay in control of the innings and the duo eventually guided the team to victory.

Impressive bowling spells by Somani (three wickets for 20 runs) and Mohamed, who took two wickets for 22 runs, failed to help the losing team frustrate Telugu’s determined chase.

The Division B’s semi-final pitting General Petroleum against Esteem Eleven, played at the same venue later, had to be stopped in the 20th over of Esteem Eleven’s innings for what the game’s umpires, Zamoyoni Ramadhan and Michael Kepha, termed as indiscipline by the batting side.

Esteem Eleven’s batsmen, on several occasions, contested the decisions of the umpires and the latter, eventually, opted to stop the game and forward the team’s complaints to the tournament organisers.

General Petroleum went in to bat first and posted 174 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 30 overs, with Zafar Khan finishing as the top run scorer with 66 runs off 61 balls.

Esteem Eleven’s wicket takers were Ashwin with three and Mahendra, who took two. The team had recorded 123 runs for the loss of five wickets when its chase was halted in the 20th over.

Top Stories