Union SC cricketers cruise to 2020 Kazim Nasser Div B tourney final   

14Oct 2020
By Guardian Reporter
The Guardian
Union SC cricketers cruise to 2020 Kazim Nasser Div B tourney final   

​​​​​​​UNION Sports Club cricketers have stormed into the 2020 Kazim Nasser Memorial League (KNML)'s Division B final, posting a resounding 92-run victory over GP Pak Stars B team in the last four stage's clash, held in the city last weekend.

Union SC will, for that matter, take on Aga Khan SC B in the final, set to take place in a day which will be confirmed by the tournament's supervisors, Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA).

Aga Khan SC B made short work of Gymkhana B side in the second semi-final clash, played the same weekend, beating the latter by 67 runs to make it to the final.

Experienced top order batsmen, Athumani Kakonzi and Seif Khalifa, and low order batsmen, Mohamed Rizvi and Shabbar Rattansi, put solid knocks to show and helped Union SC tame GP Pak Stars B in the last weekend's match which took place at Annadil Burhani venue.

Union SC went on to score 137 runs for nine wickets in 30 overs once they had won the toss and chose to bat.

They got off to an impressive start, thanks to contribution by opener Kakonzi, who posted 25 runs which consisted of four boundaries and a six.

Fellow opener Danish Unia that is one of Union SC's key performers had a relatively brief spell at the crease, ending with nine runs which consisted of two fours.

Left handed batsman Khalifa showcased his resilience for a few overs, managing 15 runs which included a four.

They were then dealt a blow following quick dismissals of experienced batsmen, Hasnain Damji and skipper Sameer Mussa, leaving the team with 55 runs after 10 overs.  

Rizvi and Rattansi stepped up to push Union SC's total, with the former posting 19 runs not out, which included a four, whilst the latter notched 19 runs which included two fours.

Rizvi moreover forged unbeaten spell with Hussein Mohsin who scored unbeaten nine runs to bring their team's innings to an end.

Humayun Taj had the best bowling performance for GP Pak Stars B, taking four wickets in six overs.

Spinner Tambwe Rashid and Basit Raza chipped in handsomely with two wickets apiece for the team.

Much as they were chasing a modest target, the GP Pak Stars B cricketers lost steam in the chase given they were disappointingly skittled for 45 runs in 11.3 overs.

Opener Sheraz Khan was so far the only batsman with a performance worth writing home about during the fruitless chase.

Khan ended with 20 runs that consisted of four boundaries.

They were dealt a blow early on in the chase following a quick dismissal of opener Salmini Yusuph that ended with six runs to his name.

They thereafter hardly recovered after Khan's dismissal, given the rest of the batsmen were dismissed in quick succession.

Rizvi led Union SC's bowling onslaught, ending with an impressive seven-wicket haul and conceding 19 runs in 5.3 overs.

Leg spinner Kakonzi piled misery on GP Pak Stars B team, ending with two wickets in four overs.

In the other semi-final, Aga Khan SC B cricketers scored 221 runs for six wickets in 30 overs after they were put in to bat first by Gymkhana B outfit.

In response, Gymkhana B squad's cricketers faltered in the chase given they were skittled for 154 runs in 24.4 overs.

Meanwhile, TCA information officer, Atif Salim, said the KNML Division A semi-final between Gymkhana A side and Caravans A team, which had been slated to take place today, has been cancelled because of downpour.

Salim noted the rest of today's fixture that include the KNML Division C matches and the 2020 Dar es Salaam Cricket (DC) Caravans T20 Cup showpiece have also been cancelled for the same reasons, given all cricket grounds are unplayable.

Top Stories