Union Sports win T20 cricket shield

17Aug 2016
Japheth Kazenga
The Guardian
Union Sports win T20 cricket shield

DOMESTIC cricket stalwarts Union Sports, put solid display to win this year's Dar es Salaam Gymkhana T20 shield with victory over Ismaili Community team in the final at the weekend.

Union Sports went in to bat first and registered 126 runs, with experienced batsman, Danish Unia, finishing the innings as the top scorer with 23 runs.

Ismaili Community, in response, managed 116 runs in a fruitless attempt to get down to a successful chase. Significant contribution with the bat in the team came from Akbar Khan, who scored 27 runs.

KishenKamania of Tarangini A emerged as the tournament's best batsman for scoring 175 runs in four innings and AbhikPatwa of Shree Jain Sangh won the best all-rounder honour after scoring 170 runs and taking eight wickets in four games.

Ravi Kiran of Tarangini A was awarded the tournament's best bowler honour with 11 wickets and the best upcoming player award was scooped byKheelSuchak of Lohana for his eight wickets haul.

The final's guest of honour who happened to be India High Commissioner to Tanzania, SandeepArya, was supportive of theinitiative of fostering the spirit of brotherhood through sports.The club management committee was represented by honorary secretary, Khalaf Rashid.

The presentation ceremony was led by Gymkhana Club's cricket Section captain, Harsheel Shah, and the section'shonorary secretary, Vijay Jobanputtra, as well as treasurer, AshishNagewadia.

The Gymkhana Shield T20 tournament remains a prominent fixture of the domestic cricket calendar lasting around seven weeks and bringing together some of the best teams and players in the city.This year's tournament involved a total of 15 teams, up from 10 teams that took part in the previous edition.

The level of competition and the players' quest to bring glory to their respective teams was fascinating to watch.
The true spirit of cricket was, as well, never lost, it was endearing to see sport, billed as the gentleman’s game, being played in the most disciplined and remarkable fairness.

Participating outfits were put into three groups that had five teams each, with group A having been led by former champions, Tarangini A, whereas group B included former finalists, Patel Samali.

Group C had the likes of Shree Jain Sangh and Rising Stars, with the majority of the latter also making the provisional squad of the national U19 team.Union Sports are also playing in the ongoing Kazim Nasser Memorial Challenge, in which they have been placed in Division B.