Upanga SC B cricketers win 2021 Kazim Nasser Memorial League Division

11Oct 2021
The Guardian Reporter
Dar es Salaam
The Guardian
Upanga SC B cricketers win 2021 Kazim Nasser Memorial League Division

UPANGA SC B cricketers have ended this season on a high, lifting the Dar es Salaam Cricket (DC) Kazim Nasser Memorial League (KNML) Division C silverware after posting an eight-wicket win over Tamil Nadu Sports Club in the final played in the city recently.

Upanga SC B cricketers pose for a picture with silverware after the completion of this year's Kazim Nasser Memorial League (KNML)'s Division C's final, which saw the outfit notch an eight-wicket win over Tamil Nadu Sports Club recently. PHOTO: COURTESY OF TCA

Tamil Nadu Sports Club won the toss and elected to bat, posting 117 runs losing nine wickets in 19 overs.

The opener, Saddamhussain Shahjahan, low order batsman, Sridhar Srinivasan, and Bhagat Singh Sundara Raj, deployed at number four, put in scintillating showing when their team took the crease.

The side's plan to end their spell with a convincing score was dealt a blow in the early stages, given the team faced two quick dismissals.

Praveen Kumar that had opened the innings with Shahjahan made his way back to the pavilion with mere three runs.

Dhinesh Duraisamy, deployed at number three, also could not last long given the cricketer made his way back for naught.

Shahjahan to some extent gave his side stability as he notched 28 runs consisting of a boundary.

Raj, that took the crease after Duraisamy's exit boosted Tamil Nadu Sports Club's total after notching 19 runs consisting of two fours.

There were three quick dismissals that to some extent frustrated the side's efforts and Srinivasan later stepped at the crease and boosted the total with his 22 runs which consisted of two fours.

Merison Pathrose and Prabhukumar Ramalingam sought to chip as they were two runs short of two-digit figures.   

Upanga SC B's promising cricketer, Augustine Mwamele, stood out of the rest of his side's bowlers, ending with an impressive figure of four wickets, giving away 30 runs in four overs.

Fellow bowler Shivan Kamania chipped in with two wickets in three overs.

Needing 118 runs to come out victorious, Upanga SC B, led by the skipper Zahir Patel, confidently mounted a successful chase registering 118 runs losing two wickets in 15.1 overs.

They exhibited their intent on getting off to a good start, with opening batsman Sadaf Saifee notching 28 runs which included a boundary.

A brief spell by fellow opener Manoj Thakkar, who chipped in with 11 runs consisting of two boundaries, did little to weaken their resolve.

Patel stepped in and made certain of his side's victory with his 34 runs not out, forming a solid stand with Hardik Patel that scored 19 runs not out consisting of three fours.

Mwamele was judged as the man of the match in the final for his bowling exploits.

Upanga SC B had booked a place in the final, knuckling down to a one-wicket victory over Tamil Nadu Sports Club, in the first of the last four stage's clashes, dubbed Qualifier.

Tamil Nadu Sports Club was then handed a chance to seek progression to the final, taking part in a semi-final tie against Patel Brotherhood B that had emerged winner in a playoff, dubbed Eliminator, against Annadil Seifee.

The second semi-final culminated with Tamil Nadu Sports Club notching an 87-run win over Patel Brotherhood B to sail through to the final.

In a good gesture of handover, the trophy was presented to the tournament's current champions by last year's edition champions, Dar Black Panthers.

Upanga SC consequently recorded back-to-back victories in Division C tournaments this year.

The outfit clinched this season's DC T20 Cup Division B's top honour with a four-wicket win over Lions Youths in the final, which took place in March.

The DC hosts the KNML's Division C annually under the auspices of the Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA) intending to boost the game's promotion in the country.

Top Stories