Yanga silence 10-man Simba

21Feb 2016
Guardian On Sunday
Yanga silence 10-man Simba

Poor marking by the defence and an early red card floored Simba 0-2 against archrivals Yanga when they met in a Mainland Premier League match in Dar es Salaam yesterday.

Donald Ngoma (centre) celebrates his goal at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam yesterday. PHOTO: MICHAEL MATEMANGA.

Simba will live to blame Hassan Kessy who awarded Yanga its first goal. The defender gave a poor back pass to goalie Vincent Angban, intercepted by Yanga striker Donald Ngoma to score on 39 minutes.

Simba had earlier been reduced to a 10-man side when referee Rukia Jonnesia handed a red card to Abdi Banda for a second bookable offence, having roughed Ngoma twice. The deficit took its toll on the Simba midfield, allowing Yanga to dominate the game as Simba played catch up all the time.

Amissi Tambwe scored the second goal for the defending champions in the 72nd minute when he connected home a Godfrey Mwashiuya left wing cross.

Simba made a number of changes but did not bear fruit. Ugandan coach Jackson Mayanja introduced Danny Lyanga for Hamisi Kiiza, Nova Lufunga for Mwinyi Kazimoto and Brian Majwega for Ibrahim Hajib but their opponents absorbed the new pressure the substitutes added.

Yanga won the first leg match on the same scoreline back in September, with Tambwe scoring one goal and Malimi Busungu capping off.

With yesterday’s results, Yanga return to the pilot seat with 46 points while Simba were earlier on top have removed to the third place with 45 points, leaving the second place to Azam FC who hit Mbeya City 3-0 yesterday.
Azam FC and Simba tie on points but the latter are ahead with goal difference.

Yanga: Ally Mustapha ‘Barthez’, Juma Abdul, Vicent Bossou, Mbuyu Twite, Mwinyi Haji Mngwali, Pato Ngonyani, Deus Kaseke, Thabani Kamusoko, Amisi Tambwe, Ronald Ngoma, Haruna Niyonzima.

Simba: Vincent Angban, Hassan Kessy, Mohammed Hussein ‘Tshabalala,’ Juuko Murshid, Abdi Banda, Justice Majabvi, Jonas Mkude, Mwinyi Kazimoto, Hamisi Kiiza, Ibrahim Hajib, Saidi Ndemla.